Zoom Aggregated Reviews

Zoom 01

August 21, 2019

Zoom has no moat. I started using them back in 2015. Was a pretty good product.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Zoom 02

August 21, 2019

Check out Zoom Technologies. Totally unrelated dead company that went from less than a penny a share to $5 because people bought the wrong one
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Zoom 03

August 21, 2019

We switched from a myriad of platforms to Zoom (S4B, GotoMeeting, Join.Me..we weren’t very “UC”)
Users love it. It works the best of any platform for macOS and we’ve had few issues besides the occasional bug. We have about 800 users and run a few hundred thousand meeting minutes a month. All users have a 50 user license but a few have 100 and 200 licenses. We also use their Webinar product and Cloud Connector extensively..
The biggest perk of Zoom is that it’s easy to join a meeting. GoToMeeting has gotten easier these days but S4B and Webex are painful. It’s not that they’re hard, but those few extra clicks can confuse some of the less tech savvy users. Now that we use Zoom, even joining a Webex can be painful and I know how to do it, it’s just a slower process.
In addition to being easy to join, Zoom uses some magic codec where we almost never get poor quality. Maybe a little more “Voipy bits” than webex but overall quality is much better. Definitely overall better audio quality than S4B and GoToMeeting.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Zoom 04

August 21, 2019

We started using Zoom instead of Hangout on Air. I think the most viewers we’ve had so far is just over 100.
Works pretty well for us, the biggest benefit being the cabled content sharing and link to YouTube.
Usually for all hands we will have all the offices join on their videowall/auditorium/board room to reduce the amount of individual viewers, makes it more communal too.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Zoom 05

August 21, 2019

We just switched to Zoom from GoToMeeting and we love it. The video is much smoother and we needed more than 6 webcams per meeting. We run several daily “huddles” of 5-10 people and just started with the Webinar 100 license.
Pros – Price! (compared to G2M), Performance, unlimited one on meetings for free users
Cons – The only issue we have seen is delay in voice if you dial in. We use VOIP and full video 99% of the time so it is not an issue.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Zoom 06

August 21, 2019

The Linux client is quite limited in the case of Zoom, but at least they have one.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Zoom 07

August 21, 2019

We used to have Adobe Connect and GoToMeeting. There’s things that GoTo can’t do, that’s why we have Connect. All of this has been replaced by Zoom. It’s only been a couple of month’s now and we are enjoying Zoom. Almost everyone has a Zoom account and it integrates with Google SSO, since we have Google for Business. The ability to call someone with the Zoom App. Breakout rooms has been a great feature. VoIP voice quality is better than GoTo. You can look into the Plantronics Calisto 610-M Portable USB Speakerphone; quality is very good for less than $100. What I don’t like about Zoom, it’s a hog on CPU. Aside from that, so far so good.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Zoom 08

August 21, 2019

We love zoom. And we’ve tried them all. Get zoom.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Zoom 09

August 21, 2019

Another love vote for Zoom. It’s great. It was super easy to mass deploy.
We really like having custom meeting numbers. Our meeting numbers are our cell phone numbers, so joining someone’s meeting is a breeze. Works on all platforms.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Zoom 10

August 21, 2019

I’ve never used Meet, but Zoom is awesome. It works on real PCs, it doesn’t use a browser plugin (that’s dead anyway), it seems pretty much foolproof, and it works on most anything. My current only complaint is that on my Scientific Linux 7.6 desktop the video flickers annoyingly at 4k. Not sure why, or how to debug, but I never do video conferences from my desktop really.
It all works with either a straight RPM push on linux, or no admin at all on Win and Mac.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Zoom 11

August 21, 2019

I can not compare it to Meet since I have not used it. But we are about 12,000 employees with offices in US, Europe, and Asia. I use Zoom daily, for both internal calls and screensharing for external clients. It is silly easy to schedule, setup, and use. I do not have much experience using it in large meeting rooms – I am using it from my workstation.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Zoom 12

August 21, 2019

We use Zoom here, but only in the Zoom Room (meeting room with dedicated camera/mic) capacity. It seems to work well; the CEO likes the iPad controller app and recording is easy.
We have only done it once but the CEO shared his laptop’s screen to the presentation and it ended up setting his 2 external monitors in his office to Disconnected. Not sure what’s up with that but he was grumpy about it.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Zoom 13

August 21, 2019

Zoom is so good RingCentral Licenses their meeting room product.
https://www.reddit.com/r/sysadmin/comments/axrqic/why_zoom/ehwqb7p/

Reddit Anonymous User

Zoom 14

August 21, 2019

Really have never heard of anyone that hasn’t loved zoom after coming from any other platform. Hands down my favorite, and I’ve used a pile of webex, gotomeeting, skype for business, chime etc.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Zoom 15

August 21, 2019

I don’t admin it, but I am a sysadmin. We switched from BlueJeans to Zoom a few years ago and it really is quite ideal. Holds up well to network connectivity, it’s dead simple to operate, and the apps are pretty decent.
The only complaint I have really, is the iOS app asks me to re-login too often. I usually join calls right from my laptop using the Mac app, but if I’m on the road or somewhere I don’t feel like dragging my laptop out, I’ll use my phone and I’ll have to reauth real quick or else it wants me to manually type in my name, which is a somewhat minor annoyance.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Zoom 16

August 21, 2019

My CFO wanted Zoom and we rolled it out to 10 execs and a couple huddle rooms. 3 months in and no complaints. We don’t lock much down, so let users do whatever on their laptops and phones. I use it on my computer and don’t have complaints.
I’m sure they will be bought by Cisco or someone similar in a year.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Zoom 17

August 21, 2019

My company uses a mix of the two. We use Gsuite Small Business (Not Enterprise) and Use both Meet and Zoom for different purposes. Only a dozen or so (out of 160’ish) people have Pro accounts in Zoom and we tend to share accounts (I know, I know…)
We use Zoom for large recurring meetings and external client meetings because the quality and reliability is just so much better. Because we’re not on Enterprise Gsuite, we can’t record Meet meetings without 3rd party software, and have found time and time again that Meet quality just starts to fall apart when you have too many participants.
Zoom has much more granular options you can configure either globally or individually, more recording options like speaker view, handout view, and automatic transcripts, no need for a login account to join a meeting, remote IT support options for 1-on-1 screen shares that work with windows UAC , handles any number of participants with the same call quality, works great with cheap 2GB micro-PC’s, and can be configured to pull in any new accounts created with your email domain into the central account. You can host the recordings in the cloud or save them locally, monitor usage and metrics, let’s H.323/SIP endpoints connect, SSO integration, user Groups that you can configure separate settings for, ability to set passwords in order to join a recurring meeting so folks can’t just re-join the same meeting ID without you noticing…
Yes, Zoom has a ton of options to go through, but that’s should be seen as a benefit to IT administrators, not a downside. You WANT the ability to control every little thing if you want.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Zoom 18

August 21, 2019

Zoom is easy, it just works, and it a lot cheaper then paid alternatives. Also it supports a really wide range of hardware, supports ADFS and other tie-ins.
Then they also have ‘room’ setups for multi user systems (similar to lifesize rooms, but not 30k a pop).
IMHO going zoom is a boon for you, its one thing you DO NOT have to manage.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Zoom 19

August 21, 2019

It blows-away other conferencing solutions, it’s easy as pie for the users to adopt, and the support is stellar. It’s worth far more than they charge for it. We rarely every get tickets on Zoom, and almost all of our people are using it every day for meetings.
Zoom is a product that makes *everybody* in the company happy; C-levels, beancounters, users, and the IT group. We’re looking into switching our phones to their new Voice product.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Zoom 20

August 21, 2019

Recently switched to Zoom because Cisco tried to jack up the price on our WebEx renewal and Zoom was available at a fraction of the cost.
It’s been mostly fine so far. Retraining and transitioning our users was surprisingly drama-free. The only recurring complaint is it doesn’t have the “call me” feature but people will get used to that eventually.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Zoom 21

August 21, 2019

We use Zoom because it continues to succeed where every other product has failed in some way or another. Either they don’t work under RDP, or through an authenticating proxy, or don’t offer strait up telephone conferences without 800 #’s, or the call quality is crap, or they don’t offer video conferencing, or require things to be installed (which we don’t let our users do), etc etc.
Believe me, I fscking HATE Zoom. But every quarter for 3 years I have looked at replacements and to date nothing else works.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Sneak peek

Home page

Footer

What’s inside

1

2

GRIN tech's Changelog

v0.6 GRIN tech affiliate is live. We are working on white-label solutions as well.

v0.5.1 Working on cool in-house lead gen project - Art Director is preparing 100 picks of Business Cards in various niches.

v0.5 GRIN games emerged

As a web agency we never could and never will be able to escape the urge of building things.
Among million other things we played with an idea of text-based games and the last piece that was missing was the story itself. So via in-house outreach platform we found two established writers that believed in the project and agreed to participate.

Shout out to Richard Abbott who wrote Fraud on Thetis and Eva Pohler who sent us a huge draft we are still reading through.

v0.4 GRIN launcher is born.
It is an outreach platform that we use to establish connections with editorial teams.
They say samples of published articles look good but pricing looks even better

At some point we realised that list building, fetching contact details & outreach tech work just as well for b2b lead generation

v0.3 Once, we fell in love with ecommerce, because of short feedback cycles on marketing & development efforts.
Today we ship into production inhouse SaaS project - AVOKADO - the web app for learning languages with flash cards.

The year after we built it we realised how long is the road map ahead & what resources we'd need to promote it and decided to put it on hold.

One day as we ship GRIN tech v3.0 into production we'll distrupt the language learning market with Avokado.

We love Wordpress and recently shipped two plugins into open beta for commercial sale.

v0.2.1 King The Monk - wordpress plugin to virally grow your email list

v0.2.2 Plain Conversions - wordpress plugin to convert your visitors

v0.1.1. Expanded core offering to visual productions

v0.1 It's Autumn 2017 and GRIN tech agency's website is born.
We have it saved for the history.

Boring things: Privacy Policy

Get Started