Yext Aggregated Reviews

Yext 01

August 4, 2019

Cheap option is to make a spreadsheet. List where every one of them is on the web by pasting url. Moz Local and Yext are good paid options.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Yext 02

August 4, 2019

I use Yext to manage few corporate office locations. Pretty decent tool.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Yext 03

August 4, 2019

Yext sucks and is a rip off. They don’t give two shits about their customers either. We paid them $30,000 for a years of service and they didn’t deliver what was promised. They wanted us to renew for another 30K per year and weren’t willing to give us a single discount even though we presented them with numerous examples of their system failing to do what it promised.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Yext 04

August 4, 2019

I wouldn’t say Yext is a cancer per say… but they are for higher end clients. The services they provide for directories are expensive for smaller business owners, I will agree. However, I was referring to the services they provide to encourage customer reviews on things like Yahoo, Bing, Google, GMB, Yelp, and other highly prominent sites within local markets if geotargeting is requested.
A larger business, especially with multiple branch locations, or with a national reach, Yext is a powerhouse performer. If you have a lower budget and need something smaller, OMG National can do that by white-labeling some of the Yext offerings.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Yext 05

August 4, 2019

Yext is cancer, They charge extortionate prices, but more importantly – you do not own your listings with Yext, unlike most other similar services.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Yext 06

August 4, 2019

I interviewed with Yext, and had a great experience.
You should definitely take the offer. It’s a rapidly growing tech company that is successful thanks to a team of talented engineers who are passionate about the company and doing quality work.
They also have semi-private offices with about 8 people split by teams, which is a great benefit over open-plan offices.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Yext 07

August 4, 2019

From my understanding is that Yext is more focused on, like you said, consistent and high quality local pages. Example: if a company has multiple locations, yext makes it simple and effective to optimize for local keywords.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Yext 08

August 4, 2019

DAC convergensee is a really good Yext alternative as well.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Yext 09

August 4, 2019

Don’t use Yext. There are ways to get some of those citations without paying Yext. Also Yext locks you in forever. You can go with Moz Local or Bright Local or Whitespark if you don’t have time or too many listings…but I recommend that you make a master sheet with all your locations, info, and links to content/media. pay an entry level person to populate all the citations and make sure you upload photos videos as much as possible. If there are free options like posts or offers take advantage of those. You get rewarded for using all features and the automatic tools don’t always take advantage of those
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Yext 10

August 4, 2019

It’s obnoxious that some directories now require you to use yext.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Yext 11

August 4, 2019

I really don’t like how Yext has taken control of all these local directories. It’s made things much harder for me b/c we don’t have a budget to pay for Yext. So many of these listings now require you to sign up for Yext to update/add your company. Anyways, most of these local directories shouldn’t pass PageRank (“link juice”), because I think almost all of them are no followed anyhow (correct me if I am wrong). It makes you look good as a company to be posted on high quality local directories, but I highly doubt it has a direct link juice benefit.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Yext 12

August 4, 2019

The value of Yext and other services like it is that they syndicate your listings and make sure they’re all up to date and correct everywhere like Google My Business, Facebook, Yelp, Apple Maps, Waze, and many other directory sites. If you’ve got one location with static hours, then it’s not really worth your time. You can set up those directory listings yourself. If you’ve got a franchise with 50 locations in shopping malls that all have different operating hours, holiday closures, etc, then a tool like yext can really help you keep up with making sure your location is correct.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Yext 13

August 4, 2019

This. If you use Yext, plan on using them forever, because the second you stop, the everything goes back to how it was previously. They are a citation suppression service, not an update service. That suppression is only active while your account is active with them.
Citations don’t pass any “link juice” as you say. They’re all nofollow links and even if they did, they’d be so devalued that they’d be worthless anyways.
What Yext does is update citations on all those sites so they’re all matching. This paints a clearer picture for Google and confirms for it that “this information is truth because multiple sources are telling it such”.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Yext 14

August 4, 2019

Yext locks you in and you lose everything if you stop paying them. I recommend using something like BrightLocal instead.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Yext 15

August 4, 2019

I second this. Brightlocal is frickin phenomenal. From personal testing Yext doesn’t always reset everything if the listings are mostly new, but it is not worth it. Yext doesn’t cover aggregators, which is a huge shame.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Yext 16

August 4, 2019

If you “quit” Yext, they take away everything and reset you back to where you were before signing up.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Yext 17

August 4, 2019

If you have more than 20+ locations, I would consider Yext. I did a whole breakdown of which service is best for localized optimization, overall I’d have to give it to BrightLocal as the best bang for your buck. I think where Yext has a lot of power is if you have exsisting listings that have incorrect information, they can bypass verification processes and quickly get the listings changed. Their power listings are also legit as its like having an enhanced or premium listing for a lot of 3rd party publishers (which gives a boost in ranks quickly).
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Yext 18

August 4, 2019

I have a write up on my blog. I have also dealt with yext, on behalf of a client.
The only use I could see for the service is for enterprise seo, but there are better alternatives.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Yext 19

August 4, 2019

We use Yext and Localeze as an agency. There are several other tools out there, but we found the most complete set with these two. However, I will say that we feel that Localeze is on downward slide and while we have renewed for another year, the reasons to not renew are starting to grow and we will need to review the service again next year. Yext has improved greatly in the last couple of years and in a couple cases we have seen significant growth on sites just for the addition of Yext and no other changes.
I am literally in the process of writing a white paper on a restaurant chain we work with that we signed up all their locations on Yext and in 60 days they had a 238% organic search increase. However, that is somewhat of an extreme case and it shows how much they were lacking in citations. On the other hand we have had sites with zero gains from Yext, but the ability to manage their citations in a centralized place has paid for itself.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Yext 20

August 4, 2019

I formerly managed tens of thousands of yext subs on behalf of clients. We also used a lot of other services like BrightLocal, Moz Local, Whitespark, and others. Here was what I always told people:
Think of your citation landscape like a yard, and business listing services like landscaping services.
Yext is like laying down sod. It’s going to be a great and fast way to fix a huge area fast, and it will look great almost immediately. If you ever cancel, though, they are coming to take the sod back.
Moz Local (or some other aggregator submission service) plus manual or paid listing building services is like planting grass. It’s going to be much slower, but if you’re willing to give it the time and effort it can produce some great results over time, and no one is coming to rip up your grass.
Generally speaking, if you’re looking at enterprise-level efforts, Yext is going to be hard to beat. The economy of scale you gain when dealing with dozens of locations is just fantastic, and you can always supplement it with manual or paid work, too. It’s definitely going to add up in cost, though.
If you have a lower number of locations to manage, or the business is brand new and doesn’t have much established listing presence, I would recommend an aggregator submission service (like Moz) coupled with a manual burst of citations from a service like Whitespark or BrightLocal. This will get your info out into the wild, and from there it can grow and disseminate across the web over time. You won’t have direct control over every little listing the way you would with yext, but if you don’t anticipate changing addresses/phone numbers/etc any time soon, it’s a great cost-efficient way to blast the info out there and set yourself a solid foundation of listings.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Yext 21

August 4, 2019

This. You’ll be tied to Yext forever. The second you stop paying them, everything goes back to how it was before you started with their service and it’ll mess up your local citations.
You’re better off looking at the aggregators (such as Axicom) that Yext pushes your updates to, and then reach out and update your profiles with them yourself. It costs you nothing but a bit of time and it’s far better than tying yourself to paying Yext forever.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Yext 22

August 4, 2019

Yext isn’t a scam, really, but you have to understand that when you cancel Yext your citations are going to blow up in a bad way.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Sneak peek

Home page

Footer

What’s inside

1

GRIN tech's Changelog

v0.6 GRIN tech affiliate is live. We are working on white-label solutions as well.

v0.5.1 Working on cool in-house lead gen project - Art Director is preparing 100 picks of Business Cards in various niches.

v0.5 GRIN games emerged

As a web agency we never could and never will be able to escape the urge of building things.
Among million other things we played with an idea of text-based games and the last piece that was missing was the story itself. So via in-house outreach platform we found two established writers that believed in the project and agreed to participate.

Shout out to Richard Abbott who wrote Fraud on Thetis and Eva Pohler who sent us a huge draft we are still reading through.

v0.4 GRIN launcher is born.
It is an outreach platform that we use to establish connections with editorial teams.
They say samples of published articles look good but pricing looks even better

At some point we realised that list building, fetching contact details & outreach tech work just as well for b2b lead generation

v0.3 Once, we fell in love with ecommerce, because of short feedback cycles on marketing & development efforts.
Today we ship into production inhouse SaaS project - AVOKADO - the web app for learning languages with flash cards.

The year after we built it we realised how long is the road map ahead & what resources we'd need to promote it and decided to put it on hold.

One day as we ship GRIN tech v3.0 into production we'll distrupt the language learning market with Avokado.

We love Wordpress and recently shipped two plugins into open beta for commercial sale.

v0.2.1 King The Monk - wordpress plugin to virally grow your email list

v0.2.2 Plain Conversions - wordpress plugin to convert your visitors

v0.1.1. Expanded core offering to visual productions

v0.1 It's Autumn 2017 and GRIN tech agency's website is born.
We have it saved for the history.

Boring things: Privacy Policy

Get Started