UserTesting Aggregated Reviews

Usertesting 01

August 11, 2019

I like Usertesting but 95% of the time, I am screened out with the screening questions. I still make $10 to $20 dailies and I am from Germany. I Check only in the evenings and weekends.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Usertesting 02

August 11, 2019

I’ve been in usertesting for two weeks and haven’t gotten any test yet, not a single one. I’m from southeast asia
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Usertesting 03

August 11, 2019

I got my sister to try UserTesting out as well. She just recently started and even more recently just completed her first paid test and is waiting for the test to be reviewed. They definitely prioritize experience when dealing with their bigger clients. A lot of the big clothing lines, utility apps, and business websites have a pretty vague audience that they are looking for to test the site. Usually the easier it is to get approved, the more you have to have already been established for the test to even show up for you.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Usertesting 04

August 11, 2019

Make the most of your testing opportunities. As long as the customers stay happy with your work, UserTesting will trust you more to give you more tests. But don’t expect tons of test immediately because they do prioritize giving tests to more established testers first. But you can get there!
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Usertesting 05

August 11, 2019

To be frank, the screeners don’t take nearly as much time or effort as most survey site screeners do on other websites. Surveys can take like 5-6 minutes before you screen out. At least with UserTesting it’s only like a 2-3 questions usually and take like a minute.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Usertesting 06

August 11, 2019

About a month ago I posted on reddit about making $150 in one day with UserTesting. As a lot of other people who use the site mentioned, its unrealistic to expect to make that much in one day on a regular basis. However, after a month (minus a week where I didn’t go on UserTesting at all) I have made $750.
Based on this, I will reiterate what I said in that post. User Testing seems to be in higher demand right now. People who claim they aren’t getting too many tests approved just aren’t putting in the time to establish themselves on the website. UserTesting works to ensure quality work gets submitted to the clients, and it is hard to trust someone with too many tests when they don’t have an established history of tests with good ratings.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Usertesting 07

August 11, 2019

It’s happened to me once or twice but UserTesting stepped in and deemed that their rating was invalid and they wiped it for me. If they don’t do that automatically, you should reach out to support and they’ll clear it up for you!
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Usertesting 08

August 11, 2019

usertesting just sucks for me. They do ZERO demographics, meaning that everything you put in your profile is just ignored. I have had tests that expect me to be indian, talk german or japanese, live in australia, NOT live in the US or every test requires you to be a full time employee.
the only tests i qualify for are the ones without screeners. And when i qualify on android, i have to upload them with 4G LTE because the android app is bugged and the upload will abort if it detects your upload to be less than stellar (haven’t had this happened under ios or desktop on the same connection).
You can send a ticket and try to get it reviewed again, don’t know if that changes anything.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Usertesting 09

August 11, 2019

do all these require you to speak your thoughts aloud? i really wanted to give usertesting a try but once it was made clear i needed to speak my thoughts aloud i just gave up on it. im not a very vocal person. its awkward for me to speak my thoughts aloud.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Usertesting 10

August 11, 2019

Usertesting is by far the best of the bunch. You get plenty of opportunities and it’s easy money. I just wish there were more sites like it that are just as easy to make money.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Usertesting 11

August 11, 2019

Varies pretty wildly. Even on UserTesting, I’ve had $10 tests take anywhere from three minutes to thirty minutes.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Usertesting 12

August 11, 2019

usertesting.com – it’s worth a try, if for no other reason besides exploration. I’ve used it from both sides, subject and tester. IIRC you can get 1 trial test with three subjects for free, but you don’t get to pick the questions. It takes like 5 minutes
You’ll probably get some worthwhile insights if you go further and pay. You can set screener questions to get closer to your target demographic. You rate the subjects (like Uber) so they tend to be good at following your written instructions and thinking out loud.
What it lacks, along with similar online services, is the ability to get deep insights. There’s really no substitute for being there in person and being able to spontaneously follow a line of questioning when the subject says/does something intriguing.
It’s a tradeoff. In exchange for not having to find subjects and perform the tests yourself, you get less useful test results. I imagine other online tools are similar in that regard.
I tried to use userzoom as a subject twice. I never got their software to work, as in it literally didn’t function. Tried once, didn’t work. Waited about 6 months, thought they might’ve fixed whatever bug there was, still didn’t work.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Usertesting 13

August 11, 2019

No it’s legit. It’s just that sometimes you won’t get any surveys for a long time. I made like $80 one time for participating in a study for a mobile game. All easy stuff, most of it is just looking at a website and sharing your thoughts about certain aspects of it. Just make sure you talk the whole time and share as many details as possible so you’ll get good ratings.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Usertesting 14

August 11, 2019

No it is not a scam. I have earned several hundred dollars. They pay via PayPal. The pay is $10 per test and you get paid after 7 days of completing a test.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Usertesting 15

August 11, 2019

User Testing is definitely legit. Keep in mind you won’t always qualify for every available test – I am just starting out and pull in around $50/week.
*UPDATE: I will add that I definitely noticed an abundance of tests when I first signed up – at least 4 to 5 pages of tests in the first week. Out of all of them, I qualified for around 5 tests in that first week. I’m now in week 3 and I only see a small handful of tests daily and haven’t qualified for one in over a week. Not sure if it means anything, but just food for thought.*
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Usertesting 16

August 11, 2019

I use it very often. This week i’ve made almost $200. Make sure to keep your overall score as close to a 5 as possible. As it drops, you’ll notice you get alerted for far less tests.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Usertesting 17

August 11, 2019

I have had fairly good results with Usertesting so far, not much advice I can provide for help regarding it though. Although, I do have the same issue where it doesn’t make a ding sound sometimes. I recommend getting Visual Ping and setting it to scan the usertesting dashboard every 1-3 minutes.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Usertesting 18

August 11, 2019

I used to make a good amount of money on UserTesting ever since I started using it in the summer of 2013 (even though I had an account since 2012). Since August 2016, I’ve received some fairly low ratings of 3 stars- even some one star reviews where I didn’t get paid. For months, I was barely sent any tests at all until February when tests started popping up again. I was able to make a good $50 from February 13 to February 19. One of those tests gave me a five star rating while another gave me 3 stars. The last test I did was on March 17 of this year. My current average rating is said to be 3.5 but of my last 12 tests, 4 of them have been given ratings (two 5 star ones, two 3 star ones).
I will admit that with some of my recent tests- I do tend to talk or go on for a little too much. So I’m fully prepared to give my best and not screw up whenever I get my next test: I’m going to follow the steps and just do it. I have been getting tests compared to the fall of 2016. Plenty of them. However, it’s been since March since I’ve been able to qualify for one. It’s extremely annoying. I’ve also noticed that when UserTesting is left open in a tab, it doesn’t make the ding sound anymore when a new test comes up. I tried setting my phone to notify me when a test is sent but my phone is already screwed up. I even have an iPhone to do the mobile tests with but I haven’t been able to qualify for any of them.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Usertesting 19

August 11, 2019

Validately . It’s very similar to usertesting – they email you when they have studies available, and sometimes they have larger paying ones as well.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Usertesting 20

August 11, 2019

UserTesting doesn’t pay by the hour, it pays by the test. You get $10 per test, which usually takes 15-20 minutes to complete. Most people will see 2-4 tests per week. The most I’ve done in a week was 6. In order to get that many tests, you need to have a browser with a tab for UserTesting running whenever you’re near it. You can’t benefit from tests you aren’t around to do, and most of the tests you would qualify for will be gone within minutes of being offered, so the more you’re willing/able to make yourself available to receive offers, the more you’ll earn.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Sneak peek

Home page

Footer

What’s inside

1

2

 

GRIN tech's Changelog

v0.6 GRIN tech affiliate is live. We are working on white-label solutions as well.

v0.5.1 Working on cool in-house lead gen project - Art Director is preparing 100 picks of Business Cards in various niches.

v0.5 GRIN games emerged

As a web agency we never could and never will be able to escape the urge of building things.
Among million other things we played with an idea of text-based games and the last piece that was missing was the story itself. So via in-house outreach platform we found two established writers that believed in the project and agreed to participate.

Shout out to Richard Abbott who wrote Fraud on Thetis and Eva Pohler who sent us a huge draft we are still reading through.

v0.4 GRIN launcher is born.
It is an outreach platform that we use to establish connections with editorial teams.
They say samples of published articles look good but pricing looks even better

At some point we realised that list building, fetching contact details & outreach tech work just as well for b2b lead generation

v0.3 Once, we fell in love with ecommerce, because of short feedback cycles on marketing & development efforts.
Today we ship into production inhouse SaaS project - AVOKADO - the web app for learning languages with flash cards.

The year after we built it we realised how long is the road map ahead & what resources we'd need to promote it and decided to put it on hold.

One day as we ship GRIN tech v3.0 into production we'll distrupt the language learning market with Avokado.

We love Wordpress and recently shipped two plugins into open beta for commercial sale.

v0.2.1 King The Monk - wordpress plugin to virally grow your email list

v0.2.2 Plain Conversions - wordpress plugin to convert your visitors

v0.1.1. Expanded core offering to visual productions

v0.1 It's Autumn 2017 and GRIN tech agency's website is born.
We have it saved for the history.

Boring things: Privacy Policy

Get Started