Scaleway Editorial Review & Aggregated Reddit Reviews

Scaleway 01

January 3, 2020

Scaleway is offering custom images, try that.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Scaleway 02

January 3, 2020

Scaleway’s 1-XS has limited distro options. You can only install Ubuntu or Fedora. It doesn’t allow you to use any of the ImageHub distributions at that tier. That’s probably why QuickBox installation would stall out. I could go to the next higher tier, but my goal is to find something in that $3 price range.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Scaleway 03

January 3, 2020

You should consider and try scaleway, I’m using it for more than a year now as a seedbox servers, and had no issues. Servers are located in Paris and Amsterdam
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Scaleway 04

January 3, 2020

My experiences with a dedicated server from Scaleway
The prices for dedicated servers from Scaleway have always been pretty enticing, basically not much more than a VPS from one of the larger providers. I finally found a project to try them out on and have written up a bit about my experiences.
Pros:
– Really inexpensive for what you get
– Dedicated, so no CPU steal
-Lots of RAM per $
– Lots of cores per $
– Bandwidth is unlimited
Cons:
– Only located in Europe right now so increased latency if you’re in the US (+70ms to the east coast roughly)
– CPU performance per core isn’t amazing
– Bandwidth is capped at relatively low throughputs, but was still fine for our use
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Scaleway 05

January 3, 2020

Came here to double confirm. Scaleway is utterly incompetent.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Scaleway 06

January 3, 2020

Never use ScaleWay VPS!!!
Imagine, my VPS (ScaleWay hosting provider) tries to start up in the last 24 hours! Yesterday I rebooted it, but it still has not started. My site is down and the support team has not reacted to my requests for all this time and does nothing to solve the problem. And I’m not alone, many people have the same problems. Therefore, we have a logical conclusion: never use the hosting services of this f.cking company!! Here are some tweets:
Scullie‏ @ScullieNow 2h2 hours ago @scaleway 24 hours offline and counting. Thank you scaleway
Scullie‏ @ScullieNow 6h6 hours ago @scaleway almost 20 hours offline now…. is scaleway setting a record? I don’t know but the only thing I want is to get my server online
Sven‏ @the_mazim 9h9 hours ago @online_fr @scaleway any chance to get this task done any time soon? https://status.online.net/index.php?do=details&task_id=911 … 65% loss since weeks is not bareable
Taras‏ @apachx 14h14 hours ago Replying to @DnR_iData @scaleway 10 min? Lol ) My vps is trying to restart during last 10 hours 🤣😡
David RIBEIRO‏ @DnR_iData 14h14 hours ago @scaleway my vps is down, http 504, 10min hard reboot and nothing come’s up. Any idea ? Thx
Remco Verhoef‏ @remco_verhoef 22h22 hours ago Replying to @ScullieNow @scaleway We have 2 servers not responding, 1 rebooting for 11 hours now.
Paul Vlasin‏ @PaulVlasin Jul 8 @scaleway Issues again with mounting volumes? I have a X64-30GB rebooting for 11 h after it went unresponsive
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Scaleway 07

January 3, 2020

I have been using Scaleway for a year. I was never required to provide any identification to enable port 25. I assume this is a policy they have implemented for new customers to combat spammers.
Scaleway is a great for its price, and dirt-cheap baremetal servers are an interesting concept.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Scaleway 08

January 3, 2020

Scaleway requires a photocopy of identity card and a bank statement to unblock SMTP on my server. Is this considered normal practice nowadays?
So I’ve been out of admin stuff for a while, but recently got myself a scaleway vps and after derping around for a month I find out that outgoing SMTP traffic is blocked by DEFAULT and in order to unblock it I basically need to present them a proof that I’m not a spammer, scammer or abuser. A photocopy of my identity card and a bank receipt. I have no bad (or any) history with this company and they have no reason to take me for a spammer.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Scaleway 09

January 3, 2020

Scaleway is fascist and total garbage. Do not trust them with your data.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Scaleway 10

January 3, 2020

Scaleway has 3eur/mo if you’re in europe
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Scaleway 11

January 3, 2020

I’m not sure scaleway currently has anyone that can beat them on price, but if you found a server on sale it may be more powerful than the scaleway x86 dedi you mentioned for the same or 2-3 euro more a month.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Scaleway 12

January 3, 2020

For the record, I’ve been a scaleway customer for years without issue
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Scaleway 13

January 3, 2020

I used to be on the scaleway beta plan, never had any problems.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Scaleway 14

January 3, 2020

That must be very biased towards unsatisfied customers. Me and my wife use Scaleway, and the only issue I’ve had was a credit card not adding to account. Then it went away.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Scaleway 15

January 3, 2020

Scaleway vps offering has generous ram and bandwidth. You’ll be hard pressed to find another providers that offer large ram and unlimited bandwidth for that price. The drawback is the arm (dedicated server) and atom (x86 vps) cpu is slow. If your use case requires fast cpu, then scaleway might not be right for you.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Scaleway 16

January 3, 2020

Scaleway’s x86 cores are Atom C2000 cores which aren’t particularly fast, especially compared with the Xeons that Linode, Vultr, and Digital Ocean all use. Also the SSD at Scaleway is attached over the network so it’s not as fast as local SSD storage.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Scaleway 17

January 3, 2020

DO NOT USE Scaleway Ever!
Hello guys,
I use servers from lot of different companies. I have always good experience with Digital ocean, Linode and when scaleway introduced arm servers i was very excited as i was working on some arm projects. I have more than 10 small instances on scaleway running small projects.
Today one of my site stopped working so i emailed them and there response was following,
Our support team created a new ticket associated to your account.
Hello,
Your instance ‘xxx’ encoured a critical hardware failure. We were not able to recover your local data located on your LSSD.
Your node has been stopped, if you made snapshot of this disk or if you halted your node recently, you will recover your disk to the latest stop state
We are sorry for the inconvenience.
Scaleway Team
This is really unacceptable because i have done nothing with this server for almost 20 days. and it automatically crashed and unrecoverable.
I have decided i will never use Scaleway. If you are thinking to use scaleway beaware think twice because they have no system in place when server is crashed.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Scaleway 18

January 3, 2020

Hard to know and compare. Scaleway was historically running a bunch of ARM processors which don’t really compare well for some tasks. It says x86 64 on the plan you mention specifically but I can’t really find much details on the processors or benchmarks comparing them. Hard to know without running some tests, but if you’re trying to run the sites on a $30 budget you might be that inclined to really do a lot of work or spend much to figure that out.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Scaleway 19

January 3, 2020

Bad experience with scaleway
Hey all,
Sharing something that happened to me recently. Food for thought for anyone who is considering using scaleway.
My debit card was automatically reissued by my bank after they believed it was skimmed in a dodgy ATM. This meant the card number associated with my previous card was no longer active and I had to go update my details with any services where it had been used.
Digital ocean sent me some loud emails informing me that my invoice couldn’t go through. I fixed that but had forgotten I still had a little scaleway host running. I only realized last week when a web proxy I run there stopped working that something was up, and when I checked their site I noticed my server was no longer there and feared the worst. Emailed their support, got this and no reply since: https://i.imgur.com/iqxl2mf.png
This isn’t the end of the world, I didn’t have anything on that host I can’t get back but I had sunk plenty of hours into configuring it. I don’t think it’s a lot to ask that a hosting company email about a pending deletion. A little sympathy or insight would have been appreciated from the customer support agent also, rather than regurgitating my question back to me.
Live and learn. I’ll be reconsidering where I host in future
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Scaleway is a cloud hosting provider with data centers in France and the Netherlands. 

Its mission – “to make cloud computing ultra-easy”. Do they succeed in doing this? Is it the right hosting service specifically for you?

Scaleway Review: First impressions

If you register, you get a virtual server stored on a physical machine. 

Scaleway does not provide shared, VPS, or dedicated servers.

When I downloaded my website, the first thing I noticed was that Scaleway cloud servers are for developers, not ordinary users.

Advanced users will be able to take full control of their hosting environment by supporting an API and CLI (Command Line Interface).

Developer-centric digital products

Scaleway also offers several other developer-oriented services:

  • Storage objects: Can be integrated with Amazon S3 API.
  • GPU Circumstances: Ideal for processing data or learning AI.
  • BareMetal Servers: Offers full control over server hardware.

These products are not in the focus of my review of Scaleway hosting, but it is nice to know that they are available.

Useful server management software

Once I subscribed to the cloud hosting package, I was given access to the Scaleway management user interface.

The server manager was easy to navigate and allowed me to add additional resources to my account quickly. As the name implies, Scaleway is focused on scalability.

Poor client support

I felt undermined by Scaleway customer service. Although ticket service is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week, not all hosting packages include the maximum guaranteed response time.

While watching Scaleway, I faced an overpayment problem, and the customer agents were unable to resolve it. I decided to study other users’ experiences to see if this was unusual:

I quickly realized that overcharging was a constant problem for Scaleway.

Alternatives to Scaleway

If you get negative feedback, think about using another developer-friendly host as an alternative to Scaleway. For example, one of these alternatives is Hostinger.

Based and managed by a team of developers, Hostinger has many VPS, and Cloud plans to choose from.

Scaleway’s Pricing

Scaleway’s hosting packages are divided into ‘Start’ and ‘Pro’ packages. 

Both are offered in four different configurations. Start prices range from €1.99 per month to €15.99 per month. At the same time, the Pro Package price ranges from €24.99 per month to €179.99 per month. None of these prices include taxes, and they will vary depending on your location.

More detailed zoom plans

Let’s have a closer look at those ‘Start’ packages:

 

1-XS 1-X 1-M 1-L
Monthly Cost  €1.99  €3.99  €7.99  €15.99
Disk Space 25GB 50GB 100GB 200GB
Bandwidth Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited
No. of Domains Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited
Email Addresses Not Included Not Included Not Included Not Included
SSL Included? Yes Yes Yes Yes
HDD or SSD SSD SSD SSD SSD
Website Builder No No No No
Customer Support 24/7 Tickets 24/7 Tickets 24/7 Tickets 24/7 Tickets
Money-Back Guarantee 30-Day Period 30-Day Period 30-Day Period 30-Day Period

The “Start” plans offer good value for money. At €1.99 per month, the basic idea is a reasonable price for 25 GB of memory and unlimited bandwidth. Too bad it does not include better customer support.

Scaleway performance

I tested the Scaleway download time with Bitcatcha. The results were acceptable; readers should have no problem loading your site.

But of course, from Cloud hosting, it is quite expected.

To sum up Scaleway review

Initially, Scaleway proved to be a promising web host offering many opportunities to attract web developers.

Unfortunately, due to my own negative customer experience and a lot of similar stories from other customers, this is not a service that I can recommend. It can be useful, of course – but in many cases, it may not be worth the risk.

Pros

  • Excellent opportunities for developers
  •  Available monthly prices
  •  Good user control panel

Cons

  • Unsatisfactory customer service
  • Phone support is not included in all packages

GRIN tech's Changelog

v0.6 GRIN tech affiliate is live. We are working on white-label solutions as well.

v0.5.1 Working on cool in-house lead gen project - Art Director is preparing 100 picks of Business Cards in various niches.

v0.5 GRIN games emerged

As a web agency we never could and never will be able to escape the urge of building things.
Among million other things we played with an idea of text-based games and the last piece that was missing was the story itself. So via in-house outreach platform we found two established writers that believed in the project and agreed to participate.

Shout out to Richard Abbott who wrote Fraud on Thetis and Eva Pohler who sent us a huge draft we are still reading through.

v0.4 GRIN launcher is born.
It is an outreach platform that we use to establish connections with editorial teams.
They say samples of published articles look good but pricing looks even better

At some point we realised that list building, fetching contact details & outreach tech work just as well for b2b lead generation

v0.3 Once, we fell in love with ecommerce, because of short feedback cycles on marketing & development efforts.
Today we ship into production inhouse SaaS project - AVOKADO - the web app for learning languages with flash cards.

The year after we built it we realised how long is the road map ahead & what resources we'd need to promote it and decided to put it on hold.

One day as we ship GRIN tech v3.0 into production we'll distrupt the language learning market with Avokado.

We love Wordpress and recently shipped two plugins into open beta for commercial sale.

v0.2.1 King The Monk - wordpress plugin to virally grow your email list

v0.2.2 Plain Conversions - wordpress plugin to convert your visitors

v0.1.1. Expanded core offering to visual productions

v0.1 It's Autumn 2017 and GRIN tech agency's website is born.
We have it saved for the history.

Boring things: Privacy Policy

Get Started