Linode Editorial Review & Aggregated Reddit Reviews

Linode 01

December 22, 2019

I’ve been with Linode now for six years and haven’t really got any complaints, but to be fair you can’t really go wrong with any of these. With only 200 visitors per day you won’t be even close to taxing your server in any way.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Linode 02

December 22, 2019

You should know that Linode gets owned up constantly and has a terrible reputation among security people. If you don’t need to keep anything interesting there you might not care though, otherwise they are decent enough.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Linode 03

December 22, 2019

Linode are excellent. Just wish they would open a POP in Australia
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Linode 04

December 22, 2019

I can talk about linode in a few contexts
As a former customer, they were awesome. Good VMs, awesome tooling, fair prices, DCs where ever i wanted them. Free upgrades to bigger and better specs when they shuffle thier hardware around.
I would still be using them as my primary hosting service if my needs didn’t call for physical hardware (which is why I now use Hetzner, also awesome).
As a contributor to a Linux distribution I’ve also had the pleasure of working with them to get openSUSE Leap images available on their platform. They have a good team of smart, keen, people.
Linode have proactively worked with me and the openSUSE project to make it happen. Idea hit their desk and they were knocking down MY door to try and find people from openSUSE to help them out. They set up a test VM themselves which mostly worked then worked with us to get it perfect. Then six months later we did our 42.2 release and the team from Linode had an upgraded image for their customers within 24 hours of our distro release.
So yeah, Linode, good team, I’d trust them with your workloads and I’d run openSUSE Leap on them 😉
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Linode 05

December 22, 2019

I have a Linode 8 GB instance running about 80 Wordpress sites, had it about 3 years no issues at all so far.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Linode 06

December 22, 2019

Linode = pretty stable, more geeky, but sometimes datacenter issues, slow support when you did have issue
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Linode 07

December 22, 2019

Linode consistently outperforms DO from my benchmarks. DO’s high CPU offerings are a different story.
I’ve used Linode for a secondary nameserver for… 5 years? No problems.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Linode 08

December 22, 2019

I use Linode for much smaller projects (a mail server and a low-traffic Web server). That said, I’ve had no trouble with lost data or latency, and I’ve been using their service for over a year.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

 

Most hosting providers and solutions are usually too small or limited for developers to use.

In our review of Linode, you will see that the name suggests that its emphasis is on providing robust hosting solutions that meet the needs of developers.

So, let’s dig this review.

What is Linode?

Linode is a Philadelphia hosting provider that started in 2003.

Its plans run on Linux-only servers, and its focus is on developers. And he has 10 data centers around the world for even more performance.

Linode Pricing

Linode has many plans and different options, but his entry-level Nanode plan starts at $5/mo. This plan has 1 GB of RAM, 25 GB of SSD, 1 TB of data transfer, and 1 CPU. That is ideal for beginners or entry-level developers.

If this plan is too weak for you, you can choose one of the Standard Plans. 

You have nine options, the cheapest plan starts at $10/mo and includes 2GB of RAM, 50GB of SSD, 1 TB of CPU, and 2 TB of transfers.

The most expensive plan will give you 192 GB of RAM, 32 CPU cores, 3840 GB of SSD, and 20 TB of bandwidth for $960 per month. Despite its high cost, this plan is also extremely powerful.

It is important to note that you can pay by the hour for each plan available here. While many ISPs have separate billing for each element (storage, network transmission), Linode combines everything into a single, easy to understand price point.

That is ideal if you need a server for computational purposes, rather than hosting a website.

But Linode offers even more specific design plans for different scenarios. These include plans with large memory, GPUs, or dedicated CPUs. So whatever you need most for your application or project, you will find something for yourself.

There are several additional add-ons that you can buy, including Nodebalancer, block storage, and backup for each available plan. The backup add-on is very customizable, and you can choose precisely the amount of memory you need.

The Nanode plan only has one backup option, which costs $2/mo or $0.003 per hour.

Provider offers a 7-day money-back period.

Unfortunately, this short period cannot be compared to the 30-day industry standard.

Linode Features

The two most important features that are important to each user are the Linode Manager interface and the Linode CLI. An excellent user interface is crucial to any good provider, and here it is the best of both worlds.

Developers can be sure that almost any task that can be done through the Linode Manager can be done through the CLI. So, if you are used to doing things through the command line, this is ideal.

If you prefer to do things without any hassles of code, the Linode Manager interface is easy to understand and use – from purchasing additional services to managing your domains and server locations.

There is a Linode support bot, which will give you helpful answers and help you find information faster.

If you don’t trust your server management and maintenance capabilities, you can choose a managed service with Linode. You will receive a 24/7 incident response service that ensures that you have little or no downtime.

Keep in mind that it’s quite expensive – $100 per month, which is a significant amount added to your tariff plan.

Linode Productivity

Linode has a 99.9% performance level agreement (SLA) that it offers its users. The average response time was also impressive, at only 261ms.

We didn’t get any significant surges in response time, with a maximum response time of about 306ms. Thus, the difference between the maximum and minimum response time will be barely felt by the user.

We used GTmetrix to see the download speed of our website. It took us 2.3 seconds to fully load our site, which, although not ideal, is still a high speed for such a website.

Linode got both A in PageSpeed (90%) and YSlow (90%). So, for most parts, our server has been optimized as it should be, but there is room for improvement.

Although the response time slightly increased in the Asian region, especially in Singapore, it was still quite adequate. Of course, the response time in the region will depend on which server you choose when creating your host.

Linode offers ten servers, including 

  • two servers in Europe, 
  • three servers in Asia, 
  • one in Canada, 
  • and four in the US.

Linode support

Linode offers regular 24/7 support by phone, email, or ticket system. Linode cannot communicate in real-time, but email and phone calls will not make you hang up for hours.

This provider has two phone numbers that you can use, one for customers in the US and the other for international customers.

The developer-centric Linode has another form of support – the help of a system administrator – answer a few questions, and the admin team will contact you, or you can call them directly.

Like most ISPs, here you will also get a knowledgebase full of guides, documentation, and useful answers to the most popular questions. You can also check the status bar for known service failures or sign up to receive notifications when something happens.

Even better, you get a community forum where developers at all levels can talk and discuss their experiences and issues.

To sum up Linode review

In general, we were impressed by the fact that this provider focused on developers. Its cloud hosting management interface should be suitable for both experienced and novice users. And prices should mean that both corporate and small consumers can afford the necessary resources.

After our review of Linde, we can say that with all the features, it offers one of the best options for developers.

Linode is excellent if you need a developer-centric hosting provider with flexibility, excellent support, and fast performance.

GRIN tech's Changelog

v0.6 GRIN tech affiliate is live. We are working on white-label solutions as well.

v0.5.1 Working on cool in-house lead gen project - Art Director is preparing 100 picks of Business Cards in various niches.

v0.5 GRIN games emerged

As a web agency we never could and never will be able to escape the urge of building things.
Among million other things we played with an idea of text-based games and the last piece that was missing was the story itself. So via in-house outreach platform we found two established writers that believed in the project and agreed to participate.

Shout out to Richard Abbott who wrote Fraud on Thetis and Eva Pohler who sent us a huge draft we are still reading through.

v0.4 GRIN launcher is born.
It is an outreach platform that we use to establish connections with editorial teams.
They say samples of published articles look good but pricing looks even better

At some point we realised that list building, fetching contact details & outreach tech work just as well for b2b lead generation

v0.3 Once, we fell in love with ecommerce, because of short feedback cycles on marketing & development efforts.
Today we ship into production inhouse SaaS project - AVOKADO - the web app for learning languages with flash cards.

The year after we built it we realised how long is the road map ahead & what resources we'd need to promote it and decided to put it on hold.

One day as we ship GRIN tech v3.0 into production we'll distrupt the language learning market with Avokado.

We love Wordpress and recently shipped two plugins into open beta for commercial sale.

v0.2.1 King The Monk - wordpress plugin to virally grow your email list

v0.2.2 Plain Conversions - wordpress plugin to convert your visitors

v0.1.1. Expanded core offering to visual productions

v0.1 It's Autumn 2017 and GRIN tech agency's website is born.
We have it saved for the history.

Boring things: Privacy Policy

Get Started