Just Host Editorial Review & Aggregated Reddit Reviews

JustHost 01

January 2, 2020

They pillage the companies they buy, and never identify them as EIG subsidiaries, so even though you leave JustHost for HostGator, EIG is still getting your money. They don’t care about your service, in general.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

JustHost 02

January 2, 2020

Justhost is one of web hostings owned by EIG. I suggest that you avoid them because their support and quality are bad
source

Reddit Anonymous User

JustHost 03

January 2, 2020

I have really had enough of them. I have been a customer for years, and for years I have been having problems with my emails not being received.
I can not even count how many times I contacted their (horrible) support, and every time they concluded that “someone hacked into your account, please change your password”.
I know this is not likely. One, I use a pass manager, so I never typed these passwords, and these are generated, 16 random digits.
Eventually, last month, I got someone else to waste (a lot) of time with their support, untill eventually they admitted that they have some (I don’t understand really) server issues that cause Justhost’s email servers to be spamming, and their customers to be falsely recognised as spamming. Their support then said they can’t do anything about this, and we should just find another service.
So.
Good bye Justhost, may your server farms rise to the sky in great balls of magic smoke.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

JustHost 04

January 2, 2020

Justhost is crappy, but if you want super cheap hosting and you don’t need much support, it’s semi-decent. I have a couple Wordpress sites that I keep around and don’t want to pay for legitimate hosting.
Anyway, do with this information what you will. Have a nice day.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

JustHost 05

January 2, 2020

Do Not Use JustHost .
I Have used JustHost for 2 years. But My website is always lost many times in the year, They need about long time to fix that. My company can not survive because of this. This is worst service I have ever used
source

Reddit Anonymous User

JustHost 06

January 2, 2020

eHost just migrated my account over to Justhost, and it SUCKS!
eHost worked fine for me in the past, but this new Justhost site they switched me over to is buggy as hell, and their cPanel only has a small number of features enabled, when compared to eHost and other web hosts I’ve used. They should have at least given us customers who paid for a years worth of service, and option for reimbursement as opposed to just switching over to Justhost. I’ll definitely be moving to another host as soon as my year is up.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

JustHost 07

January 2, 2020

Bluehost and JustHost aren’t just both owned by EIG, they’re literally identical. Same data center, same hardware, same support team.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

JustHost 08

January 2, 2020

Used Just Host for 7 years. Customer Service surprisingly good. They allow SSH access on cheapest shared plan. Never had a problem.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

JustHost 09

January 2, 2020

DO NOT USE JUSTHOST
So I’ve been using just host for the past year or so and let me tell you; they suck. They’re are cheap but oh boy do they suck.
I finally left them the other day and joined up with OVH (which i’ve also used in the past and are decent if you know how to run a server) because Just Host essentially nerfed my server to the point of uselessness. I hadn’t been able to access anything in their cpanel (which is the only way to access phpmyadmin or other such things) for 4 days. And now that i’m gone from them They are still fucking me over because they locked a bunch of features that shouldn’t be locked now that they are nothing more than a registrar (until i can switch to a better one; namely, I can’t access the zone editor or anything else. which is needed to point my server to the domain… at least AFAIK it is)
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Are you looking for affordable hosting? Just Host probably came up several times in your search.

This provider looks not only affordable but also boasts a lot of features and free extras for your shared hosting.

And no wonder that companies are trying to attract new customers with additional discounts and a lot of features “out of the box” – the competition is fierce

But does Just Host keep its promises?

Let’s find out about it in this Just Host Review.

Just Host Review: Background

Just Host offers virtual, dedicated, VPS, and reseller hosting. It has a single data center in the US.

Just Host is one of the biggest players in the industry, with over 1 million users. It focuses on providing hosting for small businesses, newcomers, and freelancers.

Thus, you will find hosting plans at very competitive prices and attractive features such as unlimited domains, free website builder, and other tools.

Just Host Pricing Review

Just Host offers four price levels starting from $3.95 per month for the BASIC plan. The PLUS and PRIME plans cost $6.95 per month, but the renewal price will differ after the initial period. You can upgrade to a PRO plan for $14.95 per month.

  • With the BASIC plan, you will receive hosting for one website, 50GB of disk space, unlimited bandwidth, and five email accounts.
  • With the PLUS plan, you will receive hosting for ten websites, 150GB of storage, and 100 email accounts.
  • PRIME provides unlimited websites, disk space, and email accounts.
  • The PRO plan is entirely similar to the PRIME in terms of limitations. However, it comes with several enhancements such as dedicated IP, domain privacy, and site backup. Besides, you get sites hosted on a high-performance server for more speed.

But is this the real price?

Unfortunately, Just Host follows the worst industry practice of all – super expensive updates.

What is it?

The advertised price is a discounted price (and, as a rule, is available only in a long-term contract). That means that the first year is super affordable, but the extension of the selected hosting package is much more expensive.

All advertised prices of Just Host are only for 36-month contracts. Besides, they are reduced in the first year. 

That means that if you want to get hosting for $3.95 as promised, you would have to pay $142.20 upfront and $292.45 after the first year.

 

Advertised1-month priceTo be paid in advanceRenewal for 36 months 
BASIC$3.95$7.99$142.20$341.64
PLUS$6.95$14.99$214.18$395.64
PRIME$6.95not available$214.18$539.64
PRO $14.95$24.99$538.20$899.64

 

Moreover, the company offers a lot of takeoffs, the prices of which pile up quickly. I’m sure many newcomers fell in love with their pricing scheme and eventually paid hundreds of dollars for simple shared hosting.

Another interesting point is that the SiteLock security package is supposedly free with all plans. Surprisingly, they ask to pay for SiteLock 1.99 dollars a month during the ordering process. That is a pretty sneaky takeoff.

Besides, it doesn’t offer a free trial.

You can ask for a refund under the 30-day money-back guarantee, but if you sign up for hosting and choose an additional domain, you will be charged $15.99 non-refundable.

If Just Host still interests you, compare the plans in the table below:

BASICPLUSPRIMEPRO
Disk Space50GB150GBUnlimitedUnlimited
BandwidthUnmeteredUnmeteredUnmeteredUnmetered
Domains allowed110UnlimitedUnlimited
SSLYesYesYesYes
Email accounts5100UnlimitedUnlimited
Customer support24/7 Chat, email, and phone
Free automated back-upsNoNoYesYes

 

In general, the prices of a simple owner are shadowy: ups, advertising long-term prices of both monthly and expensive updates.

Just Host Features Review

Just Host comes with cPanel, already included in the startup package, which makes setting up your first site very easy. 

In just a few clicks, it’s possible to deploy a website and focus on expanding your internet project.

You will also find a website builder with hundreds of templates to choose from. That is, of course, a great addition for beginners who do not have extensive coding skills.

Just Host provides quite a few features for CMS, such as WordPress, Concrete5, Joomla, and Drupal, as well as for e-commerce platforms such as TomatoCart, Concrete5, and Magento.

But there are other possibilities.

One of them is the SiteLock Protection package, and this can be a big advantage. Unfortunately, as mentioned earlier, it is very unclear which part of the SiteLock offer is included for free and what you will get in their 1.70 €.

I believe that this confusion should not happen – mainly that they advertise SiteLock right on their home page.

Another feature of Just Host’s offerings is customer support, which is available 24/7 via chat, email, and telephone.

Although I had to wait about five minutes for someone to show up for a live chat, all questions were fully answered, and the staff was very polite.

Besides, live chat support is available for both existing and new customers.

Just Host Performance Review

The host does not provide any guarantees of uninterrupted operations that have already become standard in the industry.

Instead of providing a percentage to their users, they simply promise to restore any problems within 15 minutes of they occur. Of course, assuming that these are not extreme problems. And that is not the most professional approach.

It’s just that both claims that his performance is “unfulfilled.” 

“Outstanding” is not quite the same as saying 99.9%. 

Unfortunately, that doesn’t tell me anything. Are 15 minutes of downtime every month is still considered “outstanding”? 

Without a serious guarantee of trouble-free operation, it is hard to judge server performance.

On top of that, the network itself is quite slow. The server speed was rated as below the average testing tool we used.

The C evaluation, it is well below many of its competitors.

However, if you are in the U.S. or Europe, the response time should not slow you down as they are even lower than the industry average of about 400ms.

Just a review by the host is not what was promised.

It’s just that the host doesn’t deliver on its promises of excellent hosting for small businesses, individuals, and beginners. What he’s really doing is the other way around.

Just Host Review Summary

As we understand from this review of Just Host, it attracts new and inexperienced users at a reasonable price, which in the future will jump much higher.

And Just Host is not reliable in terms of performance.

So what should we choose? When it comes to shared hosting, you can easily find tons of the best hosting providers!

Pros

  • cPanel
  • Good support
  • Website creator

Cons

  • Shady Upsells
  • No guarantee of uninterrupted operation.
  • Poor performance
  • Confusion in pricing

Changelog – pre-ecosystem era

v0.1.8 Hound @ apps.the.gt – b2b prospecting platform

v0.1.8.1 Business directory – content experiment to support b2b prospecting platform.

v0.1.5.2 Working on cool in-house lead gen project - Art Director is preparing 100 picks of Business Cards in various niches.

v0.1.5.1 GRIN games emerged

As a web agency we never could and never will be able to escape the urge of building things.
Among million other things we played with an idea of text-based games and the last piece that was missing was the story itself. So via in-house outreach platform we found two established writers that believed in the project and agreed to participate.

Shout out to Richard Abbott who wrote Fraud on Thetis and Eva Pohler who sent us a huge draft we are still reading through.

v0.1.4 GRIN launcher is born.
It is an outreach platform that we use to establish connections with editorial teams.
They say samples of published articles look good but pricing looks even better

At some point we realised that list building, fetching contact details & outreach tech work just as well for b2b lead generation

v0.1.3 Once, we fell in love with ecommerce, because of short feedback cycles on marketing & development efforts.
Today we ship into production inhouse SaaS project - AVOKADO - the web app for learning languages with flash cards.

The year after we built it we realised how long is the road map ahead & what resources we'd need to promote it and decided to put it on hold.

One day as we ship GRIN tech v3.0 into production we'll distrupt the language learning market with Avokado.

We love Wordpress and recently shipped two plugins into open beta for commercial sale.

v0.1.2.2 King The Monk - wordpress plugin to virally grow your email list

v0.1.2.1 Plain Conversions - wordpress plugin to convert your visitors

v0.1.1. Expanded core offering to visual productions

v0.1 It's Autumn 2017 and GRIN tech agency's website is born.
We have it saved for the history.

Boring things: Privacy Policy

Get Started