HireVue Aggregated Reviews

HireVue 01

August 10, 2019

Are you talking about HireVue? If so, you have an infinite amount of time between your first and second recording for each question to practice, but your second response is your final one. It wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be but I would still prefer an interview with a real person.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

HireVue 02

August 10, 2019

The fact that it’s Hirevue, in and of itself, is not a bad thing. It’s a tool/methodology, and like anything else, it will depend on how it’s being used. Hirevue and similar software initially intended to help employers conduct Asynchronous Interviews – a more modern method that allows interviewers to standardize the interviews, capture responses as-is, and revisit them later for deeper review. This way, interviewers aren’t using knee-jerk reaction and subjective conjectures to draw conclusions that aren’t there. It’s also usually paired with some sort of anchored and validated rating scale, to objectively evaluate candidates more fairly. It can be a really powerful tool when used correctly.
“Used correctly” being the operative phrase.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

HireVue 03

August 10, 2019

Maybe I’m wrong too, but I almost never bother to apply if the employer uses Hirevue or other overly-complex automated systems. It’s just not worth it when I consider the time and effort expended versus the odds of actually getting a call back.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

HireVue 04

August 10, 2019

Vans Hirevue Hell
So I applied to Vans this morning for a part time associate position, and around a few hours later I got an email for a Hirevue interview. As soon as I opened the site and tried doing some practice questions, I immediately hated it. I currently work at a different retail store and I received a phone interview before an in-person one. I bring this up because my (then) current manager told me she hired me based on my personality alone. How hard is it for them to tell me to come by the store for a 30 minute interview for an entry level position? I felt alienated and completely awkward, and it wasn’t even 30 seconds before I closed the site and said “nope”. I apologize for the rant but I want to know if im in the wrong for refusing to do the video interview.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

HireVue 05

August 10, 2019

I’m trying to figure out what stage of the hiring process hirevue best fits.. Surely “interview” is a misnomer, as it’s used for preliminary screening.
While you’d certainly present as an impressive candidate in a traditional interview, HireVue passed on you (a quality applicant) because it was focusing on assessing qualities that shouldn’t be considered until an interview stage, during the initial screening. Initial Screening should separate based on: CoverLetter/CV w/ required experience and education – tailored toward specific position Shows candidate is qualified, interested(enough to tailor resume and cover letter) and feasible(local or willing/able to relocate, realistically can accept an offer). Screening based on behavioral questions guarantees you’ll preemptively eliminate qualified applicants
source

Reddit Anonymous User

HireVue 06

August 10, 2019

I just went through hirevue for a bank teller position. First time ever going through such a process. I was tempted to read off my rehearsals but was scared it’d be too noticeable since you can tell where my eyes are focused. I felt like I didn’t too well but we’ll see. I’ve done great in my past interviews but this was the first of its kind. I’m definitely not a fan, it’s very awkward/weird to literally be talking to yourself during an interview since you can see yourself on camera. You can hide the video but it literally just adds a tint to the screen and you’re still able to see yourself which defeats the purpose. You can practice, but the questions were literally nothing similar to what was really asked, which kinda threw me off.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

HireVue 07

August 10, 2019

I did a HireVue interview today. While my interview was only 5 video questions I felt out of touch doing them and honestly more nervous than meeting a real person. Not sure if the entire session is recorded or not or just the questions that were recorded because I took longer than the recommended time. It is interesting because the time to respond from when the question hits the screen and first response was only 30 seconds but the system allows you to pause for retries and there is unlimited time while I’m trying to come up with a solid answer. And the video that gets recorded is not what you see on screen, it ends up backwards.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

HireVue 08

August 10, 2019

HireVue is typically used for screening interviews in place of phone screens. Phone screens are far more objective because you can discriminate on superficial qualities such as hair or skin color.
By the time you get past the screening process, interviewing should be a two way street where the interviewee is asking questions to gauge their fit instead of a one way conversation with a robot.
https://www.reddit.com/r/recruitinghell/comments/9zv5zu/hirevue_hell/eadtc6w/

Reddit Anonymous User

HireVue 09

August 10, 2019

That goes for literally every other tactic they can apply during hiring, and not really uniquely a HireVue problem. Interviewers shouldn’t discriminate based on EEOC protected classes, your outfit, your handshake, the tone and cadence of your interview responses, etc…But they still do it anyways, and they claim it’s how hiring is done. At least with HireVue, you have documented visual evidence against them since they have to record and archive every time. There’s at least some level of accountability instead of heresay that gives employers the edge because Appeal to Authority.
Secondly, I know a lot of professionals in my field who use HireVue as part of their selection process. Actual, academically-trained professionals, not those randos that have the bandwidth to be pulled into an “interview committee” or hiring team. They know better and use HireVue as a supplemental tool to learn more about candidates instead of THE tactic to filter the applicant pool. They understand all of those concerns that OP brought up, so they purposely do not discredit applicants if the quality of poor, or if someone is wearing a hijab, and they’re more than willing to accommodate those with disabilities because it’s how good hiring is conducted AND it’s just the right thing to do.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

HireVue 10

August 10, 2019

Someone theoretically able to request accommodations for disabilities doesn’t help. Employers running the HireVue process will still implicitly discriminate against people with certain disabilities that shouldn’t matter such as difficultly with eye contact or being in a wheelchair.
Also, as someone who isn’t an introvert, the idea of having a one way conversation with a robot for 30 minutes sounds exhausting.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

HireVue 11

August 10, 2019

Ugh, HireVue sounds like an exercise in frustration for me, and I’d probably fall asleep after about 15 minutes. The idea of having a one-way conversation instead of talking to an actual person doesn’t sound fun.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

HireVue 12

August 10, 2019

I’ve done about close to 10 hirevues this recruiting season trying to get an internship.
From my experience, I realised that once getting to the superday/face to face, it seems like the interviewers don’t actually watch your hirevue video. It’s meant for the HR. I don’t know for what.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

HireVue 13

August 10, 2019

No one in the US would ever use this to recruit if they talked to an attorney to check compliance issues. This is a HORRIBLE idea. Too many companies with too much money to spend and still have crap job postings contract with HireVue
source

Reddit Anonymous User

HireVue 14

August 10, 2019

HireVue’s robot recruiting system is building a database of deep, rich psychographic information on millions of people. Moreover, the data is not anonymous. Your psychographic blueprint is connected to all of your personal information—name, address, email, phone number, work history, education. And they have you on video. Everything you say in an interview can follow you around for the rest of your life.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

HireVue 15

August 10, 2019

HireVue is a good way turn off good candidates.
Maybe suitable to hire webcam girls and TV presenters, but terrible choiche for anything else
source

Reddit Anonymous User

HireVue 16

August 10, 2019

HireVue Hell
So, I’m sure some of you have had an encounter with “HireVue” When I got the email and it said: “Candidates who complete a HireVue digital interview will be contacted first, so please complete your video as quickly as possible to speed up the process” I was mortified, what if you don’t have a phone that supports the app, don’t have a pc ect? Are you just screwed??
Also what if your blind, deaf, deaf and no speach therapy, or have a speech impediment? The time it gives you to answer the questions isn’t enough for a bad stutter, or sign language. What if you just… Mess up?
I fell this also breeds discrimination, the employer can look at the video and go “this quality is potato… NEXT” or “That one is wearing a hijab…. NEXT” I know they aren’t allowed to do this technically… But nothing is really stopping them from finding a reason to not hire you cause they don’t like you.
What if I have questions for My employer? This whole thing is like talking to a wall, it’s not personal and it’s like they are telling me I’m not worth their time.
When I downloaded the app it didn’t start, it kept crashing, and a second app that basically killed my phone came with it. This whole thing is just horrible, and if you don’t complete the “interview” YOU DON’T GET HIRED.
Great right?
Edit: I just found out they use an AI to analyze everything you do from your pupils dilating to your tone of voice.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

HireVue 17

August 10, 2019

Just to update, HireVue interviews really seem to depend on the company that your interview is with. Mine were very easy simple questions and I could re-record my answer as many times as I wanted before I could submit. Which made the whole thing less awkward because I could methodically think out my answers and re-record. But others didn’t have that pleasure, so it’s really up to the company!
source

Reddit Anonymous User

HireVue 18

August 10, 2019

I just had my HireVue interview. It was terrible. Very awkward to talk to a camera or my case a monitor, with no one at the other end. I was very nervous since i knew it would be uncomfortable and awkward. Questions were behavioral type questions. I was given one minute to prepare my answers then 4 minutes for a response. I had a total of 5 questions. questions had multiple parts to them. After doing some research i learned that it is possible that a human will not review the video. The Hirevue has some type of screening process and gives a score to the interviewee. Not sure if this is a great way to find a good candidate. guess i am still stuck on actual face to face. I don’t think i did well but who knows. I hope to get a response soon. I know i have all the skills needed for the position and would be a great fit. But to everyone else Good Luck! and just smile and display confidence during the process.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

HireVue 19

August 10, 2019

However, since Hirevue has been mass marketed as “video interviewing”, and there’s only so much that a system is capable of, many employers believe this is just another mechanism to ask the same interview questions, just over the internet instead of in person. If the employers know what they’re doing, it can be a very powerful tool to streamline the interview process. But most times, it’s employers who just want to replicate the same interview experience, without the bother of logistically bringing you in.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

HireVue 20

August 10, 2019

I FUCKING HATE HIREVUE VIDEO INTERVIEWS!!!
(Not tagging industry/my current line of work for privacy reasons… this rant is general anyway)
Have any of you had to experience the hell known as a HireVue “interview”? It is literally talking to yourself and answering questions via webcam. And you don’t even get to redo your video for each question… so if you stutter, have a Freudian slip, get sick on camera, you name it… it is in their hands FOREVER. I don’t even understand what is the point of interviewing this way… it feels like I am on display or auditioning for a role in a fucking movie instead of actually showcasing my professional skills. It feels like a gross violation of privacy too… who knows who is even watching people’s videos on the other end?
Are HR people seriously too fucking lazy to put aside time to meet people irl for interviews now? If this becomes a thing that is normal in a few years, I’m gonna go berzerk. Sorry for ranting, I just feel like I lost a potentially big opportunity because of this awkward fucking hiring process.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

HireVue 21

August 10, 2019

Why the heck is somebody from HireVue here even bothering with this? This isn’t the worst thing that could be said about HireVue, it’s not alleging leaking, or any reason above the ordinary complaints. It’s hardly worth noting, PR wise, because it’s just the nature of their business. It goes without saying that HireVue’s representative is only making things worse by appearing here in “recruiting hell” of all places.
Here’s some fun highlights of how video interviews give them more data than even imaginable; 15,000 different personal traits.
“HireVue Insights by contrast conducts, archives and examines hundreds of video interviews, which Newman says offer “over 100,000 times more data than a resume,” tailored for a particular company’s needs. HireVue claims it can use such data to break down 15,000 different personal traits of a candidate, and test how they correlate to an organization’s current top performers. Newman says the system also learns and adapts over time, to further improve efficiency and effectiveness.”
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Sneak peek

Home page

Footer

What’s inside

1

2

 

GRIN tech's Changelog

v0.6 GRIN tech affiliate is live. We are working on white-label solutions as well.

v0.5.1 Working on cool in-house lead gen project - Art Director is preparing 100 picks of Business Cards in various niches.

v0.5 GRIN games emerged

As a web agency we never could and never will be able to escape the urge of building things.
Among million other things we played with an idea of text-based games and the last piece that was missing was the story itself. So via in-house outreach platform we found two established writers that believed in the project and agreed to participate.

Shout out to Richard Abbott who wrote Fraud on Thetis and Eva Pohler who sent us a huge draft we are still reading through.

v0.4 GRIN launcher is born.
It is an outreach platform that we use to establish connections with editorial teams.
They say samples of published articles look good but pricing looks even better

At some point we realised that list building, fetching contact details & outreach tech work just as well for b2b lead generation

v0.3 Once, we fell in love with ecommerce, because of short feedback cycles on marketing & development efforts.
Today we ship into production inhouse SaaS project - AVOKADO - the web app for learning languages with flash cards.

The year after we built it we realised how long is the road map ahead & what resources we'd need to promote it and decided to put it on hold.

One day as we ship GRIN tech v3.0 into production we'll distrupt the language learning market with Avokado.

We love Wordpress and recently shipped two plugins into open beta for commercial sale.

v0.2.1 King The Monk - wordpress plugin to virally grow your email list

v0.2.2 Plain Conversions - wordpress plugin to convert your visitors

v0.1.1. Expanded core offering to visual productions

v0.1 It's Autumn 2017 and GRIN tech agency's website is born.
We have it saved for the history.

Boring things: Privacy Policy

Get Started