Hawk Host Editorial Review & Aggregated Reddit Reviews

HawkHost 01

January 2, 2020

hawkhost is a good choice since it supports memcached and redis.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

HawkHost 02

January 2, 2020

I really like hawkhost. 3.75 a month if your paying month to month
source

Reddit Anonymous User

HawkHost 03

January 2, 2020

For web hosting, check out the reviews on www.WebHostingTalk.com. I found them to be pretty reliable. I went with HawkHost based on their recommendations and have had a good experience. This was several years ago though, I’m sure there are new web hosts that are good as well.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

HawkHost 04

January 2, 2020

Most will allow you to host more than one website in the space you rent. HawkHost is a pretty good host and offers a plan at $3 a month that allows you unlimited domains hosted (the word “unlimited” is not really accurate, but web hosts love using it; there are limits somewhere that will stop you from going crazy but for your purposes of a couple of sites you won’t run into them). I would not recommend that plan to a business or high traffic site, but for your school project plus a personal site it would work really well.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

HawkHost 05

January 2, 2020

Probably a good chance you are just not using one of the better shared hosts as the majority are terrible. Some that I’d say are not terrible are SiteGround, HawkHost, or StableHost (HawkHost generally has a 30% off recurring coupon and Stablehost 50% off, think both require minimum 1yr payment but do have money back guarantees with Hawkhost at 30 days and Stablehost 45 days).
source

Reddit Anonymous User

HawkHost 06

January 2, 2020

They have a very intuitive cPanel user interface. Never had downtime with them(probably it’s because I wasn’t there so I wouldn’t know xD.) Free SSL certificates for everyone
source

Reddit Anonymous User

HawkHost 07

January 2, 2020

I use and recommend HawkHost. They are a Canadian hosting company with great prices and fast hosting.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

HawkHost 08

January 2, 2020

HawkHost. I’ve been hosting multiple websites with them for years.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

HawkHost 09

January 2, 2020

GoDaddy is trash from my experience. HawkHost/OMV are so much better
source

Reddit Anonymous User

HawkHost 10

January 2, 2020

I used to use cheap web hosting for personal stuff (i.e. not work related). Just like blogs and things like that. I was quite happy with HawkHost at the time, and I was with them for maybe about 5 or 6 years. It doesn’t suit my needs any more as I prefer a local web host these days and Hawkhost is American.
For other reviews you can go to webhosttalk forum (I think that’s what it’s called). They usually recommend HawkHost or they used to otherwise MDD Hosting seems to be popular there.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

HawkHost 11

January 2, 2020

I used to use cheap web hosting for personal stuff (i.e. not work related). Just like blogs and things like that. I was quite happy with HawkHost at the time, and I was with them for maybe about 5 or 6 years. It doesn’t suit my needs any more as I prefer a local web host these days and Hawkhost is American.
For other reviews you can go to webhosttalk forum (I think that’s what it’s called). They usually recommend HawkHost or they used to otherwise MDD Hosting seems to be popular there.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

HawkHost 12

January 2, 2020

I’ve also used HawkHost for years and never had a problem (multiple Wordpress sites). You can get a HawkHost shared plan for a couple bucks per month (promo codes always aavailable).
source

Reddit Anonymous User

HawkHost 13

January 2, 2020

If you want a Canadian host, I’d suggest HawkHost.com. Used them for years (although not currently) and never had a problem. They are well regarded in the industry.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

HawkHost 14

January 2, 2020

+1 for hawkhost
Best hosts for the money IMO.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

HawkHost 15

January 2, 2020

Know the owner personally. They have a 24/7 support team who helps out fast and friendly.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Hawk Host is a hosting provider that offers affordable hosting solutions for all types of users. With extensive and scalable plans, Hawk Host can serve both individuals and businesses.

Hawk Host claims to offer reliable services with minimal technical staff intervention, as Hawk Host servers can recover from common problems automatically.

But is the provider reliable, and is it worth your money? Let’s test it in our Hawk Host overview.

Hawk Host Background

Hawk Host provides a wide range of services including shared, semi-dedicated, reseller, VPS and cloud hosting. It also sells domains and SSL certificates.

What’s interesting is that Hawk Host uses a smarter rather than a harder strategy to work with servers that have automated processes to solve the most common problems.

Thus, Hawk Host is a hosting provider that promises extensive hosting experience with innovative and reliable servers at an affordable price.

That is a unified whole, both for website owners and web development professionals.

Hawk Host Pricing Review

Hawk Host has two shared hosting plans – Primary for $2.99/mo and Professional for $7.99/mo. You can also get a 25% discount for the first billing period, so the price starts at $2.24/mo.

With each plan, you get many unlimited features – bandwidth, databases, domains, and SSL certificates. So what’s the difference?

  • The initial plan for $2.99 per month gives you only 10GB of storage, which allows you to host about two regular sites or one more.
  •  The professional $7.99 per month plan gives you unlimited storage space.

In the table below, you can compare all of the features both plans offer to see which one meets your hosting needs:

 

PrimaryProfessional
Disk space limit100000MBUnspecified
Bandwidth limitUnmeteredUnmetered
Domains allowedUnlimitedUnlimited
SSD or HDD used in serversSSDSSD
SSLSupportedSupported
Anti-DDoS protectionNot availableNot available
Anti-malware protectionNoNo
Email accountsUnlimitedUnlimited
FTP accountsUnlimitedUnlimited
Website BuilderWeeblyWeebly
Assisted Website TransferYesYes
cPanelYesYes
Auto-installerYesYes
Auto-installer scriptsYesYes
Money-back guarantee30 days30 days
Customer Support24/7 Ticket support
Choice of server locationDallas, New York, Los Angeles, Amsterdam, Singapore, Hong Kong, Toronto
Free Automated BackupsNoNo

 

As you can see, for just $8 a month you can get an unlimited amount of everything, instead of worrying about maximizing your SSD space.

$7.99 a month, and you can go. Or can you? We have been tested to start with hosting, and we found out that if you want to buy hosting month in a month, you have to pay $9.99 for hosting every month. The price is $7.99 only if you pay in advance for 24 months of hosting, which keeps you locked up for a long time.

So, what does the Professional’s shopping cart plan look like?

To get the $7.99/mo deal, you have to pay in advance for 24 months. But this will include domain, SSL, Weebly website builder, and all the unlimited features.

So, if you look at the price, even paying the monthly price, Hawk Host may be worth it. You get all-inclusive hosting. But the performance has to be exceptional for that.

Performance Review

Hawk Host guarantees 99.9% server uptime, which is offered by most hosting providers, and compensates if server uptime drops below 99.9%. Customers can claim for compensation by opening an SLA ticket (it does not have a Live Chat feature, so solving problems may take some time).

As for server performance, Hawk Host is quite average. Response time is excellent in the US, good in Europe and places like Sydney and Singapore, and a little behind in Japan, Sao Paulo, and Banglore.

Overall, this result gives Hawk Host C+, which means it is above average, but you may want to get better results for your site.

Hawk Host Review: Pros

  • Customer support – 365/24/7 customer support through help forum and help desk. The support team reacts quickly, and agents respond promptly to your questions. You can also email the customer support, but they will focus on sending you to the help forum or the support team.
  • SSD Servers – They are much faster than hard drives, and not every provider offers these services.
  • Fast Service – Hawk Host’s performance is decent and gives a good user experience. For an input package, it offers great value.
  • Easy website navigation – Hawk Host is easy to navigate, and you can easily set up your site with cPanel. There are various software options like Joomla and WordPress, that are easy to get and understand.
  • 99.9% Uptime – Host Hawk works to save websites hosted on its servers up to 100% of the time. Still, they guarantee 99.9% Uptime and have processes in place to fix some of the minor and common problems, while other hosts often need to have technicians to fix those problems, which means that different hosting providers will have more downtime than Hawk Host.

Hawk Host Review: Cons

  • Pricing – Pricing is slightly overpriced if you want to pay by the month. Other large hosting providers allow you to pay much lower and do not require large amounts in advance to get a good price for your hosting package.
  • No Live Chat – While their support team is responsive and helpful, there is no live chat that is usually one of the easiest ways to get customer support without waiting for a response.
  • It Sells Your Information – According to many Host Hawk customers, they sell your information, and you start getting a lot of unsolicited phone calls.

Hawks Host Review Summary

Summing up this review, Hawk Host is a worthy hosting provider that offers decent speed and uptime. And it looks like a great host.

However, for the safety of your data, we will not recommend you to use it.

Hawk Host sells your personal information to third parties, which makes it not only a terrible but also illegal practice in many countries. But if you do not object to receiving telemarketing calls from random companies, of course, why not?

Besides, for Hawk Host, not having a live chat is the only thing that breaks the deal for Hawk Host.

Pros

  • SSD-servers
  • 99.9% uptime with compensation
  • Help in moving the site

Cons

  • No live chat.
  • Sells personal information to third parties

GRIN tech's Changelog

v0.6 GRIN tech affiliate is live. We are working on white-label solutions as well.

v0.5.1 Working on cool in-house lead gen project - Art Director is preparing 100 picks of Business Cards in various niches.

v0.5 GRIN games emerged

As a web agency we never could and never will be able to escape the urge of building things.
Among million other things we played with an idea of text-based games and the last piece that was missing was the story itself. So via in-house outreach platform we found two established writers that believed in the project and agreed to participate.

Shout out to Richard Abbott who wrote Fraud on Thetis and Eva Pohler who sent us a huge draft we are still reading through.

v0.4 GRIN launcher is born.
It is an outreach platform that we use to establish connections with editorial teams.
They say samples of published articles look good but pricing looks even better

At some point we realised that list building, fetching contact details & outreach tech work just as well for b2b lead generation

v0.3 Once, we fell in love with ecommerce, because of short feedback cycles on marketing & development efforts.
Today we ship into production inhouse SaaS project - AVOKADO - the web app for learning languages with flash cards.

The year after we built it we realised how long is the road map ahead & what resources we'd need to promote it and decided to put it on hold.

One day as we ship GRIN tech v3.0 into production we'll distrupt the language learning market with Avokado.

We love Wordpress and recently shipped two plugins into open beta for commercial sale.

v0.2.1 King The Monk - wordpress plugin to virally grow your email list

v0.2.2 Plain Conversions - wordpress plugin to convert your visitors

v0.1.1. Expanded core offering to visual productions

v0.1 It's Autumn 2017 and GRIN tech agency's website is born.
We have it saved for the history.

Boring things: Privacy Policy

Get Started