Flickr Aggregated Reviews

Flickr 01

August 21, 2019

I would gladly pay for Flickr if they would add the option for me to reorganize the order my albums show up in on my public page. Or at the very least, have them sorted by date. Having them only sorted by order of upload with no option to reorganize or resort them seems archaic.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Flickr 02

August 21, 2019

Flickr used to be great, now its just “OK” IMO. I had a pro account at one time and have been a member since 2008(ish). Although might still be great tool for some, I think i’m closing the curtains on this account.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Flickr 03

August 21, 2019

I have an account from 2017 on flickr. I don’t how was possible but I used a gmail address to create the account. I no longer trust yahoo since they had a security breach last year at that time I also decided to delete my email address from yahoo. Since last year I’ve uploaded 308 photos but I don’t have any problem to pay for a pro account as long as Flickr improves.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Flickr 04

August 21, 2019

I post photos on Flickr, and use it for display purposes (linking photos and getting downsized versions) it saves me a shit ton of time, this change won’t really affect how I use it (even though occasionally I’ll get on and check out other photos.)
Flickr has been an amazing resource for me since I started shooting not only for ideas but as well since people sometimes give good CC.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Flickr 05

August 21, 2019

I’m so happy to see updates and a plan from Flickr. I was a paid user for ages, but the fact that it seemingly wasn’t getting any love made me increasingly nervous to give them more money. I still think there’s a place for them, especially with the changes at Instagram since the FB acquisition.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Flickr 06

August 21, 2019

I used Flickr to make photo albums to share with loved ones, it was perfect. Need to share vacation picture, create an album of 250 pictures. 1000 pictures limit is way too low for my needs.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Flickr 07

August 21, 2019

I have to wonder if the same people who complain about limiting storage on a free account (to something much more reasonable now in my opinion) also complain when facebook or another site sell their data.
Businesses are not charities, folks. Flickr provides a service. Storage, bandwidth, customer support, product improvements, etc. cost money.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Flickr 08

August 21, 2019

Looks like a lot opinion here find great the change from paying $0 or $25 a year to pay $50. Flickr suddenly doubled the price of its pro accounts and seriously limited tre free ones. I mean, 1000 photos are about a photo a day in 3 years. I have 14k photos there. Yes, i’ve been using that as a backup, but also i had linked my ig account and now upload and share my ig pics and some more, so i”m pretty active there. They justified this in the fact that just 3% of free accounts keep more than 1000 photos, but how much of that 97% is actively sharing and how much are long time abandoned??? Seriosly, i find even suspicious so many people praising Flickr for basically blackmail users to get pro accounts and double the price of them… ang seeing that praising comments with the most upvotes.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Flickr 09

August 21, 2019

I paid for Pro back when Old Flickr was in its heyday, and if even a hint of that old glory seems to be returning I’ll do it again in a heartbeat.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Flickr 10

August 21, 2019

I`ve been with Flickr since 2006. I created a Yahoo email just to sign up. I was just a kid (well, over 18 cos I had my own credit card) and got a Pro account right away. It literally says on my stats page “PRO since October 2006” so trust me when I say I feel pissed off. I’ve been through so much with this godforsaken website and stuck around through it ALL. I’ve cheerleaded for it, talked it up, recommended it to people even when others were leaving cos it’s (mostly) always been good for me.
But this… I’m actually not sure. Serious doubts.
A little perspective:
– Pro since 2006. Total of 31.1 GB (~11,000 photos) over 12 years. That’s not even close to the free 1 TB you all are complaining about losing. I’ve only had 6 photos ever hit Explore. (Once I had two in one day so the whole Explore thing seems really weird to me.)
– I’m not a “dumper” but I do post A LOT of photos on Flickr I wouldn’t post on my personal website, which is more of a portfolio. I don’t need it as backup (I already have local and Amazon Prime for that). I don’t care about comparable cloud storage services since I don’t use Flickr as cloud storage.
– I’m not a huge user of groups but I’ll post a few pics to various ones occasionally. I’ve only really used chat in groups for specific advice and knowledge. Stuff like vintage camera film or how to get started in a particular industry, etc. I’ve never noticed any real problem with groups or how they work. Nothing is as bad to me as Instagram and 500px in terms of the constant “validation begging” and spam.
It’s more like a place to post photos to share with family of my holidays, etc. and to post photos that then get picked up by blogs/etc under a CC license. I’ve got much more exposure than otherwise with the CC licensing and the fact Flickr is a huge resource for news and blogs.
The best part is that because of Flickr, I’ve literally had offers to buy photos and job offers based on my work there. Granted, those haven’t been common or well-paying. I certainly can’t call myself a professional and it’s not even close to making a living on it. It’s pennies and can’t pay any bills. But it’s exposure and money I would not have got any other way. But I don’t need an integrated store cos nobody likes my photos that much, lol. Flickr has been far more helpful than Instagram for actual paid gigs; and better than 500px even when I (mistakenly) worked for a 500px Studio assignment (Horrible experience. Never again).
– The 2-year pro unlimited for $45 was a good deal that I could manage to afford for years and years since I’m not a pro. I’m basically a hobbyist who’s lucky to earn a dime or two every so often.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Flickr 11

August 21, 2019

Flickr has been around a long time. There’s so much photography on there that’s abandoned, that will be lost. Photography from photographers who may no longer be with us – they’re going to steamroll it and delete it based on upload date and nothing else.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Flickr 12

August 21, 2019

I use my Flickr free account both as a storage facility and for posting. I also have a smugmug website for my portfolio (paid).
I use Flickr as well for groups but feel this was destroyed by the 30 group limit more than anything else. I’m not saying you should be able to post in hundreds of groups, but it was nice to interact in bigger groups as well as smaller niche ones.
I can’t see anyway the platform was devalued by people using as a storage facility and not interacting at all. I see this purely as a corporate money making scheme rather than a thinly veiled statement that it’s to improve the service for all.
To be honest the 1000gb storage for free is so good, it was only a matter of time before it changed.
I just hate the sanctimonious reasons given as to why it’s for everyone’s benefit
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Flickr 13

August 21, 2019

I’ll probably pay if I’m over 1000, but I’m a bit worried this will make Flickr even deader. My favorite parts of Flickr are being able to categorize trips and locations into albums for quick access along with keeping the full quality/aspect ratio of a photo. (unlike wide panoramas in Instagram if you circumvent the ratio limit) One frustrating part of Flickr is when I’ll post the same pic, at the same time to Flickr/Instagram, have the same relevant tags, put the same effort promoting (none), and get 10x more likes on Instagram than views on Flickr. I don’t need to have x number of likes, but Instagram at least gives me a big enough sample size of views to see how one picture of mine compares to another.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Flickr 14

August 21, 2019

1000 photos is too few. I do not use Flickr for backing up all photos. Amazon prime, dropbox and others are fine for that.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Flickr 15

August 21, 2019

I have well over 1000 photos on Flickr, looks like I’ll have to start paying for it 🙁
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Flickr 16

August 21, 2019

Flickr: Galleries, some photo management tools, some strong community groups. More for amateurs and enthusiasts than pros. Now owned by Smugmug, a family-owned American business.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Flickr 17

August 21, 2019

I got off of Flickr because it started to give me that trashy Myspace vibe. I will check it out again soon and hope for the best.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Flickr 18

August 21, 2019

Exactly right. Just do a search in this sub for “Flickr” and you can see that Flickr is more often recommended as a backup service than as a community. I have such nostalgia for Old Flickr because it was such a great community. Making it a backup service with automatic mobile upload made it “set it and forget it.”
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Flickr 19

August 21, 2019

They have a good point about the free (dumping ground) Flickr provided with the free terabytes of storage. People were just using it as a backup service and not interacting in the groups and other people’s photos. I love Flickr for it’s groups.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Flickr 20

August 21, 2019

holy fucking thank fuck.
jesus christ.
i created a flickr account before the yahoo ‘integration’, and lost full access to my account.
when i try to log in to flickr, it tells me ’email doesnt exist’. but if i try to create an account, it tells me ‘account already exists’. if i do ‘forgot password’, it tells me ‘sorry, account doesnt exist.’
yahoo support is non existent, and i cant post on their ‘help’ pages without an account. that i cant log in to. because it doesnt exist.
flickr support was able to at least confirm i had the right account because i thought i was losing my damn mind for a good while. i may still be losing my mind, but that is another story.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Flickr 21

August 21, 2019

I forgot my Yahoo login. Haven’t been able to login to my Flickr in years
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Sneak peek

Home page

What’s inside

1

 

GRIN tech's Changelog

v0.6 GRIN tech affiliate is live. We are working on white-label solutions as well.

v0.5.1 Working on cool in-house lead gen project - Art Director is preparing 100 picks of Business Cards in various niches.

v0.5 GRIN games emerged

As a web agency we never could and never will be able to escape the urge of building things.
Among million other things we played with an idea of text-based games and the last piece that was missing was the story itself. So via in-house outreach platform we found two established writers that believed in the project and agreed to participate.

Shout out to Richard Abbott who wrote Fraud on Thetis and Eva Pohler who sent us a huge draft we are still reading through.

v0.4 GRIN launcher is born.
It is an outreach platform that we use to establish connections with editorial teams.
They say samples of published articles look good but pricing looks even better

At some point we realised that list building, fetching contact details & outreach tech work just as well for b2b lead generation

v0.3 Once, we fell in love with ecommerce, because of short feedback cycles on marketing & development efforts.
Today we ship into production inhouse SaaS project - AVOKADO - the web app for learning languages with flash cards.

The year after we built it we realised how long is the road map ahead & what resources we'd need to promote it and decided to put it on hold.

One day as we ship GRIN tech v3.0 into production we'll distrupt the language learning market with Avokado.

We love Wordpress and recently shipped two plugins into open beta for commercial sale.

v0.2.1 King The Monk - wordpress plugin to virally grow your email list

v0.2.2 Plain Conversions - wordpress plugin to convert your visitors

v0.1.1. Expanded core offering to visual productions

v0.1 It's Autumn 2017 and GRIN tech agency's website is born.
We have it saved for the history.

Boring things: Privacy Policy

Get Started