Cloudways Editorial Review & Aggregated Reddit Reviews

Cloudways 01

January 3, 2020

Cloudways which is the managed part on top of digital ocean is great!
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Cloudways 02

January 3, 2020

After getting a recommendation in this sub I switched over to cloudways about a year ago. Cloudways creates an interface for you to have a VPN on another service such as digitalocean or Amazon, depending on your needs. I’m so glad that I did it because I’ve had zero downtime, tech support is fast & friendly, and my website is now on a cloud Network that’s world wide and very fast.
I tried setting up a VPN on another hosting service and the leap in tech know how required was just too much. cloudways makes it as simple and easy as it can possibly be. once the server is setup it’s really no different than services such as GoDaddy, you have an interface that takes care of everything for you.
Basically I have a simple VPN and I can host as many sites on it as the VPN can handle. Right now it’s pumping out about 1,500 hits per day. Also I pay less than $10 a month but the service costs have since increased for people who are new customers.
Setting up the server 2 interface with your domain company can be a little tricky, you have to go into A name records and stuff like that. But I just got a notice from cloudflare that they now host domain names. Once I set up everything through cloudflare it’s interfaced automatically with cloudways and voila
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Cloudways 03

January 3, 2020

I absolutely love Cloudways and plan to use it for client websites and certain projects but still need to spin up a VPS for certain sites. Cloudways doesn’t support Ghost.org and Discourse.org.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Cloudways 04

January 3, 2020

Cloudways is a good option for you. Go for it.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Cloudways 05

January 3, 2020

Cloudways is a trash tier control panel that has banned from here for effectively being criminals (stealing user content, fraudulent billing, astroturfing this subreddit.) Under no circumstances should you or anyone else use Cloudways.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Cloudways 06

January 3, 2020

Try Cloudways, you can choose different vendors (Amazon, google, digital ocean, ecc) and can scale up / down very easily according to your needs
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Cloudways 07

January 3, 2020

Cloudways has a managed platform that allows you to use digital ocean and a few others. Their platform will setup the server and optimize optimized it. You don’t get root access but it’s really not needed. I use it for my own stuff but I use Vultr over Digital Ocean.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Cloudways 08

January 3, 2020

Cloudways has a managed platform that allows you to use digital ocean and a few others. Their platform will setup the server and optimize optimized it. You don’t get root access but it’s really not needed. I use it for my own stuff but I use Vultr over Digital Ocean.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Cloudways 09

January 3, 2020

Downside of Cloudways as I’ve found is it’s fairly slow compared to a barebones nginx setup.
I just switched to easyengine.io from Cloudways and it’s significantly faster for my wordpress sites.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Cloudways 10

January 3, 2020

I moved over to Cloudways a few months ago and haven’t looked back, decent prices and their customer service is second to none IMO.
I would imagine their support are just trying to provide you with the best package possible. If your site is media heavy or something then 100,000 hits a month is going to take alot.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Cloudways 11

January 3, 2020

I’ve used their support and find it great. I host all my affiliate sites on Cloudways + Digital Ocean. Fantastic setup, never had problems and I really like their interface. Free SSL setup too. Super easy to manage, really I’d say Cloudways is the best choice.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Cloudways 12

January 3, 2020

I am having an awesome time using Cloudways! It’s super easy to set up your own WordPress server with HTTPS and a CDN.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Cloudways 13

January 3, 2020

I would suggest you to try Cloudways. It is one of the best Managed Wordpress Hosting. It allows you to create servers on cloud infrastructures including (DigitalOcean, Vult, Linode, AWS, GCE) .
Cloudways take cares of the hosting pain points of Wordpress developers through the following features:
– One Click WordPress Installation
– Monitor everything with the New Relic monitoring system.
– 24×7 live chat support by cloud professionals.
– Team Collaboration feature assigns server and application access and roles to the members of the team.
– Easy server management features including server cloning and server transfer.
– One click auto backup with frequency ranging from hourly to weekly.
– Configure scheduled cron jobs with cron job manager
– Scale up servers with easy vertical scaling.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Cloudways 14

January 3, 2020

I use Cloudways for my bigger sites and find their product to be excellent and their prices to be very reasonable. I am not a developer, but I have been blogging for 10+ years, so I have tried many different hosting providers. The Cloudways platform is very easy to use, their customer support is attentive and they have a decent amount of documentation on their site. Setting up Magento on their platform would only take a few clicks.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Cloudways 15

January 3, 2020

Cloudways is a shit tier provider and the day they go out of business is the day the world is a better place.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Cloudways 16

January 3, 2020

Cloudways. It’s managed and support is decent.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Cloudways 17

January 3, 2020

Maybe the mods are alseep. Cloudways is amazing.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Cloudways 18

January 3, 2020

Cloudways has been warned repeatedly to stop spamming our sub, but persist. One of their executives even reached out to try to bribe me to allow the spam to continue. They are not, nor will they ever be welcome here.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Cloudways 19

January 3, 2020

Cloudways sucks, they are not a host. They are reselling as a middleman for double the price with just a layer of control panel in between and slow support who’s native language is not English.
Their employees spam discords and reddit, so they are banned.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Cloudways 20

January 3, 2020

Haven’t used Forge, but with Cloudways: no Postgres support, PHP and MySQL are a version behind (7.0 vs 7.1, 5.6 vs 5.7), you’re limited to one database. There’s no way to run a deploy script (they have a button that’ll pull git, but won’t build webpack).
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Cloudways 21

January 3, 2020

I have personally used both and currently have my projects on Cloudways. I chose cloudways over forge only because they have auto-scalable kyup servers and they upscale and downscale based on usage/traffic without downtime. This saves some $$ in the long run and also I don’t have to login everytime to scale up the server when I am expecting traffic. They also let me add multiple team members and individually share access of servers and applications across team. and they have a lot of options that you can control via their platform UI. I am not saying that I am not a fan of the command line but cloudways UI makes it easy and quick to do tasks like cloning sites between same server and other servers (even between providers like DigitalOcean to AWS).
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Cloudways 22

January 3, 2020

just FYI …. Cloudways did NOT manage any servers… they are setup and remote script only
if you want server management you must hire sysadmin or join managed hosting
these scripts just really “tricking” newbies who dont know how to setup their own server……
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Cloudways 23

January 3, 2020

When I was using them I found several things: 1. bad support. 2. varnish caching is outdated, nginx caching is better but you don’t get the control to do it with cloudways. 3. Poor tenant isolation, if you are putting more than one application on a single vps with cloudways be aware that any single application can consume 100% of the VPS resources. There is no way to limit resources per application because they do not use containers in any way.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Cloudways 24

January 3, 2020

FYI: Cloudways is on the shitlist here for being a terrible company. I can not understate how many of their shill accounts I’ve banned and how awful of a company they are. Stay away.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Cloudways 25

January 3, 2020

Cloudways is great, but keep in mind that “managed” doesn’t mean they troubleshoot beyond the server stack. They do have a paid support option that will help you with WordPress/WooCommerce issues (and anything else). This isn’t really unique to them though, but it does seem to be a common misunderstanding of where server support ends and software support begins. If you’re already aware of this, consider this a tip for someone else who may not 🙂
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Cloudways 26

January 3, 2020

Hey there! I use Cloudways. Sometimes their support is a little weak but their servers and setup are nice.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Cloudways 27

January 3, 2020

Interesting long review, click on the link.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Cloudways 28

January 3, 2020

I have been using Cloudways for years and never had any problem of unclear pricing, yes every extra feature costs money, but all other hosts also charge for extra service, though it seems lately that the support for those that need it lacks in performance according to users at their community forum, that may be something to consider if your a new user of Cloudways.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Cloudways 29

January 3, 2020

Cloudways: Enforced Hidden Fees
I have just found that they charge for off site backup while it is not stated anywhere in the purchasing process, differently than e-mail and CDN, the backups are automatically enabled and the fee is enforced. Of course off site backups are indeed useful but the pricing should be made well visible in the server activation procedure. They are charging $ 0.033 but I was charged $ 0.5 twice even for VPS not using as much, so twice shady.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Cloudways 30

January 3, 2020

We’ve got a few of our servers operating via Cloudways and I can’t fault their system at all. Their first line support I don’t rate all that highly, nor can I comment much on their marketing as I haven’t seen it, but their core product allows our team to manage multiple client solutions from one dashboard which works really well.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Cloudways 31

January 3, 2020

Rant: Do not use Cloudways.
I’m not sure if this is allowed, so mods do let me know if not.
But I am absolutely appalled at how Cloudways operate. I think that they’ve been banned from here for spam which is why I did not go beyond a trial with them and closed my account. Now I get bombarded with emails almost daily from different Cloudways email addresses with no option to unsubscribe from them – so have resorted to spam filtering their whole domain.
source

Reddit Anonymous User

Established in 2011, Cloudways is a well-established competitor in the managed cloud space of web hosting.

With thousands of customers and a strong reputation in business, is Cloudways the right choice? In this review, we will learn.

Cloudways Review: first impressions

First of all, the Cloudways site is the work of a master. It is presented in a pleasant and user-friendly manner, which will surely appeal to many visitors, including me.

But it doesn’t matter from the outside.

Cloudways offers a massive range of services from the bytes of its managed cloud servers. These include managed hosting solutions that specialize in specific applications such as WordPress, Magneto, Joomla, Drupal, Laravel, WooCommerce, and shared PHP.

With each package that it provides, it offers a wide range of features.

The idea of peace of mind through 24/7 support is excellent and would be incredibly helpful to most (if not all) web hosting users. However, it is often easier said than done, as many providers offer 24/7 support, but do not keep their promises.

I tried a live chat to ensure its effectiveness – еo my surprise, I was able to contact the agent in a matter of seconds.

More importantly, I was able to resolve my question within a minute.

Not bad!

But was my experience different from other users?

Other Reviews of the Cloudways

Cloudways reviews of other clients are quite controversial. Many users have been happy enough to stay with Cloudways for several years.

But others are not so happy.

However, Cloudways seems to have improved over time. Although the reviews for 2018 were quite mixed, in 2019, they were overwhelmingly positive.

So there’s something to take away from here. While Cloudways may have had some problems, this is a company that is willing to listen to customer feedback and improve. And it’s pretty great.

And even negative reviews shouldn’t scare you too much. You have to keep in mind the fact that most hosting providers do have negative customer reviews. In general, people are more likely to leave reviews if they have something bad.

Pricing

For its core service (Managed Cloud Web Hosting) Cloudways offers five different cloud server providers from which you can choose:

  • DigitalOcean – Starting from $10 per month.
  • Linod – Starting from $12 per month.
  • WULTHER – Starting at $11/month.
  • Amazon Web Services (AWS) – Starting at $34.91 per month.
  • Google Cloud Platform – Starting from $33.30 per month.

For my Cloudways review, I will check prices for Vultr provider as I believe it is the best value for money. I chose Vultr over DigitalOcean (which is also a reasonable price) due to the broader choice of server locations.

With the cheapest option at $11/month, offering 1GB of ram, 1-core processor, and 25GB of disk space, the prices for Cloudways with Vultr will be very affordable for most users.

The company’s plans include a massive 96 GB ram package with 800 GB of storage and 15 TB of bandwidth. Of course, there is something for everyone.

If you are not worried about server speed on the eastern continents, then Cloudways plans with DigitalOcean may be the best choice. As the main reason, I analyzed the ones with Vultr that were related to the choice of an Asian server.

Cloudways plans

All this is good and good, knowing that Cloudways prices with Vultr start at $11/month, but how do you figure out which plan is right for you?

There is a vast amount of 11 plans, but I have summed up four plans whose price is the most differentiated. 

I also contacted support to find details that are not available on their website. This way, you can make a much more informed decision. You’re welcome.

 

VULTR1GBVULTR4GBVULTR32GBVULTR96GB
Ram1GB4GB32GB96GB
Processor1 Core2 Core8 Core24 Core
Disk Space25GB60GB300GB800TB
Bandwidth1TB3TB6TB15TB
SSL Certificate IncludedYesYesYesYes
HDD or SDDSDDSDDSDDSDD
No. of Domains AllowedUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimited
Dedicated EnvironmentYesYesYesYes
Mailboxes Included$1 per mailbox per month$1 per mailbox per month$1 per mailbox per month$1 per mailbox per month

Which plan is best for you depends entirely on your circumstances. If your demands are monstrous, you can consider a VULTR96GB or a similar plan.

If you don’t need a substantial 24-core processor and 15TB of bandwidth, you’re likely to be better off at the other end of the chart.

For example, for a site that is currently running at a higher level of traffic and is not yet too loaded with content, I would recommend starting with VULTR1GB – you can always switch later!

Cloud Computing Performance

Since you will be looking for another set of servers to choose from, your performance will strongly depend on your choice.

As you can see, the response time around the world is excellent.

I do not have any problem with speed displayed. It’s rare to find a provider with a constant speed on every continent, but Cloudways did the job. In a way, it makes perfect sense. It’s a premium cloud hosting provider – and it has to behave as such!

Summary of Cloudways Review

There are both heavy upside down and negative aspects of using Cloudways.

On the positive side are round-the-clock support, free extended SSL Certificate, and a wide range of specialized hosting packages. I’m particularly interested in the Vultr packages so that you can choose between servers in the US, Europe, and Asia.

On the other hand, there are problems reported by numerous users when servicing customers. However, if it’s any consolation, I need to confirm that my experience with the customer support team was fine.

In general, I can recommend Cloudways as a hosting option for those who have high requirements and technical know-how. If you are looking for cloud servers with pay-as-you-go without the hassle of managing yourself, give Cloudways a try.

Pros

  • Support for live chat 24/7
  • Wide range of packages
  • Better speed around the world
  • Free SSL Certificate with each package

Cons

  • Not suitable for small websites
  • Reasonable technological know-how is preferable

Changelog – pre-ecosystem era

v0.1.8 Hound @ apps.the.gt – b2b prospecting platform

v0.1.8.1 Business directory – content experiment to support b2b prospecting platform.

v0.1.5.2 Working on cool in-house lead gen project - Art Director is preparing 100 picks of Business Cards in various niches.

v0.1.5.1 GRIN games emerged

As a web agency we never could and never will be able to escape the urge of building things.
Among million other things we played with an idea of text-based games and the last piece that was missing was the story itself. So via in-house outreach platform we found two established writers that believed in the project and agreed to participate.

Shout out to Richard Abbott who wrote Fraud on Thetis and Eva Pohler who sent us a huge draft we are still reading through.

v0.1.4 GRIN launcher is born.
It is an outreach platform that we use to establish connections with editorial teams.
They say samples of published articles look good but pricing looks even better

At some point we realised that list building, fetching contact details & outreach tech work just as well for b2b lead generation

v0.1.3 Once, we fell in love with ecommerce, because of short feedback cycles on marketing & development efforts.
Today we ship into production inhouse SaaS project - AVOKADO - the web app for learning languages with flash cards.

The year after we built it we realised how long is the road map ahead & what resources we'd need to promote it and decided to put it on hold.

One day as we ship GRIN tech v3.0 into production we'll distrupt the language learning market with Avokado.

We love Wordpress and recently shipped two plugins into open beta for commercial sale.

v0.1.2.2 King The Monk - wordpress plugin to virally grow your email list

v0.1.2.1 Plain Conversions - wordpress plugin to convert your visitors

v0.1.1. Expanded core offering to visual productions

v0.1 It's Autumn 2017 and GRIN tech agency's website is born.
We have it saved for the history.

Boring things: Privacy Policy

Get Started